We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Historic Hotel in Downtown Milwaukee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Westport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Historic Hotel in Downtown Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Hotel in downtown Milwaukee for 5 nights with our children in April. (last month). I just wanted to share what a wonderful stay we had. It is conveniently located. A unique historic hotel that has recently been renovated. We stayed in a suite, perfect for our children to be in a connected room. It was very spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bonus was the amazing breakfast at the The Cafe. We typically like to venture out for breakfast, but the food was wonderful and we ate there every morning. We loved staying there, and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Milwaukee. Great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    218
    81
    38
    12
See reviews for
152
278
43
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Typically I don't write a review but I just had too. Called front desk to reserve room and asked if there was free parking and a roll away bed. He advised me there was. When I got there the parkign was $8 and the roll away bed was $10. To top if off the front desk guy though he was a comedian. The rooms was filthy. I called and asked for a wake up call never got one making me late for my meeting the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stroobs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I could not have been happier with my week long stay at The Plaza. The building was just incredible in an awesome historic way. Neat lobby, with extremely pleasant and helpful staff. I had read a lot of complaints about the wifi but I didn't have a single problem and it was lightning fast. The cherry on top in the Cafe at the Plaza. Incredible food from breakfast til 2pm each day with very reasonable prices for such awesome food. When I come back to Milwaukee this will be my go-to hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keyskong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The building has a lot of charm. It's old and in a really beautiful location (Milwaukee's East Town neighborhood), and it's also safe (basically in the middle of the MSOE campus). The hotel is convenient - a block away from a supermarket and several bus lines, and five blocks from downtown, the Milwaukee Art Museum, and Lake Michigan. It is also down the street from a really yummy Greek cafe. In fact, I ate dinner there almost every night because it was delish! Anyway, the lobby of the hotel is covered by a huge rug with a huge, gross stain on it. I think they should probably fix that because it looks bad. The room was nice enough. My bed was super-comfy and I loved the attached kitchen. (Money-saving tip: go to the Metro Market and get cereal and milk and just eat breakfast in your room every day!) My bathroom was clean, but the shower/bathtub was horrible. The shower would not work unless the bathtub faucet was going at full strength, and that caused the bathtub to fill up. My shower ritual was to wash as quickly as I could in the shower and then wait for the tub to drain so I could wash my hair under the faucet. Very annoying, but I didn't complain to staff about it because I was already unpacked and weary after a 40-hour train journey. The building is also half-hotel and half-apartments. My room was near the residents' back entrance and the door slammed constantly. Every time the door slammed, by windows shook and it scared the crap out of me. Residents also smoked right outside my window near their bike rack area. I could smell it every time, because the room's windows didn't really close all the way. Anyway, those are all of my complaints. Try to get a room AWAY from the back entrance. Oh, a nice plus is the coin-op laundry they have in the basement - soap and dryer sheets for sale, too! I was able to hit up my next location with clean clothes.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the back entrance. Check your bathtub and shower before you unpack and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenobodygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARNCA, Director of Sales at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It is most unfortunate that the front desk was not advised on the bathroom issue, as well as the smoking. The guest would have been moved to another room and the faucet issue repaired.
There is a designated smoking area in the parking lot, away from the hotel. Smokers would have been asked to leave the area near the hotel. Also, the rug in the lobby is less than a year old and is of very good quality and cleaned/vacuumed daily. The "stain" was mistaken for the nap in the rug. Depending on where you are standing in the lobby, the nap looks different. The lobby has a lot of natural light that contributes to the look as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

While it's a good "cheap and cheerful" hotel, the radiators in some rooms are just out of control. In our room, there was no regulator on the unit so we were connected directly to the boiler. The last night was just unbearable with the room temp hitting 90 degrees. In addition, the water banging in the radiator sounded like a bell choir. We were able to get a different room at 2:30 am but that radiator had the same bell choir problem. I can't blame the hotel for the noisy neighbors adjacent to the new room. Either way, it was a tough night.
The desk clerk did comp our parking fees but was authorized to comp at least that last night. A phone call to the GM a few days later didn't resolve things either. "Yes, we've been making some repairs to the boiler and I guess we still have some work to do."
Unless you're staying over New Year's Eve or on St. Patrick's Day, I would recommend staying at the County Claire for a good downtown "cheap and cheerful" option.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TexasCheeseHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARNCA, Director of Sales at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The following notification has been placed in each guest room:

Steam radiators feature manually operated, adjustable valves.
The hotel works on an “averaging heating system”. Steam is provided when the building, as a whole, requires heat.

Locate the radiator valve on either side of the radiator. Fully open the valve counterclockwise for heat. Turn the valve clockwise until it is fully closed for no heat.

If the guest room has two or more radiators, turn one off completely and use one only to regulate over-heating. It is best to leave a radiator on at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Do not use the Plaza hotel when traveling here on business or if you plan on using internet in your room at all. The internet signal is so weak I don't even know why they bother offering it.

Location is great. It is a short walk to everywhere you need to go in Milwaukee.

Do not get a room near the cafe unless you want to get woken up early in the morning...but do get a room near the cafe if you want free smells.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARNCA, Director of Sales at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
In the month of January, 2013, the Plaza Hotel quintupled the ban width to the building and replaced all network equipment. The upgraded network is working very nicely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is tucked in a quiet neighborhood, walking distance to the lake and downtown restaurants. Cute, clean, affordable rooms. Older building undergoing renovations. Great breakfast at the cafe. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,395 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 1007 N Cass St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3374
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza has been a fixture on Milwaukee's eastside since the roaring 1920's. This art deco gem has been thoughtfully renovated to restore many of the stunning original architectural details while providing for the modern amenities & the latest technology today's traveler demands. Nestled in a residential nook of the Yankee Hill neighborhood, the Plaza is just 4 blocks from Lake Michigan and the city's lakefront attractions. Within walking distance to some of the city's best restaurants, nightlife, arts, sports, etc. Grocery store, churches, art galleries & shopping are all nearby. On-site parking for a minimal fee, kitchenettes & laundry room. Cafe at the Plaza, open 7am-2pm. Known for it's great breakfasts! Sitting on the edge of downtown, you will find the Plaza to be a relaxing urban retreat.Property has air conditioning in the summer months. AC unit installed based on weather conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing