We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good rating for ambiance & service level”

Iron Horse Hotel Bar and Patio
Ranked #57 of 1,503 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1,068 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Very good rating for ambiance & service level”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Really enjoyed the opening act for "Summer Sounds" in The Yard -- the great patio area outside the Iron Horse Hotel. Robert Allen Jr & his blues guitar -- awesome.

Sorry that I cannot recall our server's name, but he was great also.

It's too bad that drink & food prices are so $$$ (rather than paying $12 to $14 for a cocktail, we decided to stick with $6 beers). I had a salad which was tasty. My husband had the fish tacos - which he enjoyed - but he thought that amount of food presented (3 tiny tacos) did not come close to the $$ being charged / and I agreed with him. We ended up ordering Fries because he was still hungry; but maybe this is the the kitchen's strategy...keep the patrons hungry so they'll keep ordering more Food.
Our bill for 3 beers, a salad, Fish Tacos & 1 order of Fries came to $60.
We'll be back for the summer music, but will eat elsewhere next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rollngstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Service - Average Food”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a great server, but the food was just kind of blah. Small portions and lacking flavor. My burger came with only a few fries and my friend had the chopped salad, which was small and not very fresh looking. I would go here for drinks again, but skip the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diamond00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Cool Property”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stopped in for some early evening cocktails with about 20 others, and had a lot of fun in a must see property. Granted the lounge was nearly empty when we arrived and we made the place lively, but the bartenders did a good job keeping our glasses full. The style and decor is one of a kind, and I will take friends there someday, and very likely spend a few nights there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winenotwhine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Relaxation in the "Yard" on a Summer Day or Fall evening!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Love atmosphere and wonderful flatbread pizzas!!! The "Yard" at the Iron Horse Hotel is a perfect place to be with your colleagues or family! The music during the week preceding 4th of July was fantastic, as well! Fun!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VizslaLover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot to enjoy outdoors in the summer”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a couple of drinks here while waiting for a table at the restaurant in the hotel. The ambiance and staff were all wonderful, and the drinks were excellent. It is a popular place, so finding seating is a little tough. Otherwise, an excellent experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cornsilk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Horse Hotel Bar and Patio also viewed

 

Been to Iron Horse Hotel Bar and Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing