We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JACK UP FOR A GREAT MEAL!”
Review of Jackson Grill

Jackson Grill
Ranked #149 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“JACK UP FOR A GREAT MEAL!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Restaurants often grow stale, like a favorite song, when you repeat the experience over and over again. Jackson Grill has continued to tantalize & shine for years on end. This urban supper club, located in an obscure & unique residential-industrial neighborhood, welcomes you with Wisconsin warmth,resonating comraderie, as the bar is filled by happy,welcoming folks. The steaks, grilled to perfection, & the ribs, extending over your plate, are the best! Prices are reasonable for wonderful dining served with love.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    24
    11
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great, except.......”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I will echo all of the other great reviews, atmosphere, service, wonderful bartenders, warm and gracious host Janice. Here is the single flaw: they have 3 seatings, 5, 630, 800. We had a 630 reservation, arrived early to enjoy sitting at the bar. We weren't seated until 6:50, which was fine with us, we were in no hurry whatsoever, and Janice had checked in with us, letting us know the table wasn't turning promptly.
However, as soon as we were seated, our waitress Heidi made it clear we were being seated late, and there was another seating at 8 pm. She then rushed us in placing our orders, choosing wine,whisking plates away. It threatened to overshadow the wonderful experience. Late in the meal, we mentioned feeling rushed to Janice, who then seemed to take over our table, relaxing the pace, providing an after dinner drink. Thanks Janice!
I would hope that the wait staff can find a way to balance turning tables in a timely fashion, with providing a more relaxed dining experience. I will be back, and will make a point to book the latest seating, to avoid a repeat of this experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bblair7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We love to find places like this with excellent service and food! From the moment we walked in, the place felt comfortable and welcoming. Bartender was professional but casual and made us feel like we were in her home. Unusual appetizers like crispy pig ears and duck fat fries. Both outstanding! Our steaks were fantastic, cooked perfectly and full of flavor. Our server was attentive and friendly and actually said HE enjoyed serving US! The owner, Jimmy, came out of the kitchen to chat with each table, which is a personal touch you don't see much anymore. We will definitely go back. Wonderful evening! Best to make a reservation...as word gets out, this great place is quickly becoming one of our city's not-so-hidden gems!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My new favorite place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The atmosphere here is the first thing that impressed me. I so loved it that I was willing to come back even if the food was only kind of good, which it was not. It was great. The homemade salad dressings, the wonderful soup, and of course the steaks. Not to mention the very professional bartenders. My perfect night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our daughter gave us this dinner as a birthday present and it was wonderful! Cozy bar, friendly service and a meal that was spectacular! They had steaks and I had the fish of the day with Gnocchi, yum! The meals were very substantial. Pricy but very good. We will go back for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtworoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing