We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Saz's State House

Saz's State House
Ranked #130 of 1,508 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in March of 1976, Saz’s State House is where it all began for Saz’s Hospitality Group. Over the past four decades, Steve Sazama’s original vision for a first-rate restaurant and sports bar has grown into a destination restaurant with a loyal following. As evidenced by a collection of awards resulting from community nominations, Saz’s State House continues to proudly serve the community both in and outside of the expanded restaurant walls. Featuring favorites like its signature BBQ Baby Back Ribs and BBQ Pork Sandwich, the State House also boasts a robust event schedule, seasonal specials, private event space, and complimentary shuttles to and from many Milwaukee sporting events.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our waitress Lowell, was terrible, rude and mean . She acted like we were doing her a favor by being there spending money. The food when we finally got it was ok but the service was terrible.............

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas5011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    52
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good BBQ. Excellent ribs! A little pricey but very good quality. Located very near Miller Coors if you're interested in combining a brewery tour with your lunch or dinner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenn0448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Noisy joint with so-so food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friends booked reservations for six of us last Friday night. We were seated in a room reserved for groups, and there were just a few tables of others already seated. Shortly after we were seated, another group of 24 began to trickle in. Their reservation was not for another hour yet, but they ordered drinks from the bar and came to the party room where we were seated. Some took seats, and others stood around and began partying. While I am glad that they were having a good time, their merriment--a full hour before their reservation--was so boistrous and distracting that all we could do was eat quickly and in silence, for it was impossible to converse. We couldn't wait to leave. Someone in our group spoke to the partiers and to the manager, but nothing was resolved. To top it off, the food was just so-so.

There are so many restaurant choices in the Milwaukee area that I see no reason to give this place a second chance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dare2BGroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant / sports bar”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We wanted to take a brewery tour at Miller and got there too late so we decided to go and have a bite before returning to our hotel (we were in Milwakee for a business trip). The hotel shuttle bus driver suggested this place and we went there. The food was good but not out of the ordinary and the atmosphere pleasant. Lots of people there so I supose that it is a popular place with the locals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelerspain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal after a long bus ride”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went on Saz's tailgate bus for a Packers game. It was the best time ever! After the ride home, we stayed and enjoyed some of their food.. ok, a lot of their food. We ordered a rack of ribs, half a chicken, and the duck salad. Everything was cooked perfectly. The meat was falling off the bones, the sauce wasn't overly sweet, it was a solid meal!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Agga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saz's State House also viewed

 

Been to Saz's State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing