We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chancery Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #516 of 1,519 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,234 reviews
647 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 765 helpful votes
“Could Be Better”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Six of us went for dinner on Thursday night. There was no wait at 8 p.m.

The Chancery has quite a few locations in the greater Milwaukee area and suburbs. We've had a better dining experience at the one in Waukesha.

Hubby ordered the tequila margarita special with no salt. The drink came out loaded with salt on the rim of the glass. He wiped the salt off the rim and said that, salt notwithstanding, the drink wasn't that great. I ordered the house pinot grigio, which wasn't great either.

We ordered chicken quesadillas and the chicken mac and cheese (without chicken), to share. The quesadillas were good, but the mac and cheese tasted more like a carton of salt. I was gulping water all evening attempting to quench my thirst, after consuming far too much salt.

Our server was new, and she did a good job, but she goofed up our credit card payment. The tab was $36 and change, but the credit card authorization came back as $39 and change. We had to send it back for correction.

We'll stick with The Chancery in Waukesha. They've switched to a healthier menu, with hormone free/antibiotic free beef and chicken.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Improved”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hadn't been to the Chancery in years, as the service and food were less than desired on a previous visit. Went with our two adult children - food was much improved; service was excellent; will consider going back again

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very disappointing meal all the way around. Food was inedible- covered with a thick hoisin sauce (chicken lettuce wrap). Other entrée (chicken pita wrap) was soggy and cold when served.
This used to be a place that always had consistent food. Not anymore. The competition in the area has killed the Chancery.
We will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alegnalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wauwatosa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hamberger Rip Off”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This used to be one of my family and friends quick and convenient places to eat. The offer of $2 hamburgers gave us a reason to go back. The burgers are $2 in the bar, but wait ads cheese $1, fries $2 and domestic beers $4. A couple of weeks before cheese was 50 cents. Done with this place as they look for the quick dollar and screw long time customers instead of making you feel wanted. Other village options.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Average with some nice features”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was seated at the back of the restaurant and had a nice view of an old iron railway bridge, mature trees and a creek or river; I have to say this is what made my experience slightly better than average. Also the waitstaff was attentive and they served Spotted Cow, my almost favorite beer. But the overall effect of the Chancery was simply average and good for a quick lunch or maybe sitting around chatting with friends over a few beers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chancery Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chancery Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing