We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on way to airport”
Review of Kegel's Inn

Kegel's Inn
Ranked #83 of 1,518 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Milwaukee's West Allis neighborhood, Kegel's Inn serves up the most authentic German fare in the area. Inside you'll find a warm atmosphere, friendly service and one of the most beautiful beer halls in the country. With incredible murals, leaded glass, and heavy wooden beams, one can almost hear rounds of "Du Bist Mein Herzen" reverberating in the Bierstube. Since 1924, Kegel's Inn has been the locals' go-to destination for authentic German cuisine and continues to top the charts as one of the best places to catch a Friday Fish Fry in Milwaukee. At Kegel's Inn, everything is made from time honored traditional recipes. Like the rest of our establishment, things haven't changed much since we first opened our doors in 1924. Sure, there may be some new faces, but our steadfast commitment to our customers and our family values keeps our atmosphere warm and inviting, our service fast and neighborly, and our delicious food in accordance to the highest standards of our family lineage. At the end of the day, our goal is that your experience gets better every time you come in. Danke Schön!
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stop on way to airport”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Food was very good, and very reasonably priced! Soup was excellent. Wiener schnitzel was pretty good. Nice atmosphere. Service was good. Only real complaint was the cleanliness of the bathroom. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_I-Like-To-Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    39
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent fish fry”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a group of 6, all friends, who infrequently get together for a Friday Fish Fry (one couple is from Minnesota, but we still let them comment on the fish,,,,haha), and we thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. Is it crowded - yes. Is the food served fast and hot - yes. Is the beer authentic German - yes. Would we all return - yes. We mixed it up with a bluegill plate, a seafood platter, a walleye plate, and haddock (traditional). The fish was all very, very good, and the potato pancakes must not be missed. The coleslaw is not your typical grocery store deli quality - it is homemade and excellent. Add some rye bread and you have a very nice meal for a very fair price. Another rarity is that we did have a reservation, and although we could hardly walk through the restaurant and bar area, we were seated exactly on time. Now that in and of itself is worth the visit. Old fashioned customer service is getting harder and harder to find. So, bottom line, we will return for fish, but more importantly, we will return for authentic German Food (and to see the nice people who run the place and serve the guests, and who sincerely said 'thanks' to us for coming in). A very nice experience. Parking is a little tough on a Friday night, but once around the block and we parked pretty close.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friday Fish Fry- Pretty Decent”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

living not that far away, I was surprised I never visited Kegel's at all, much less for their friday fish fry.
it was a worthwhile experience.

GREAT German beers on tap--- 7 or 8, so not a humongous selection, but fair and quite good.

People there are quite nice and authentic.

wait for a table was excessive- said 1/2 hour, but was over an hour.

baked cod was tastier than the haddock, but both were quite good.

clam chowder was average, but tasty.

we'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tvdirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Das ist gut”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Really like the atmosphere here. Went on a Friday night in December. Bustling with activity, cool German decor. Had a duck dish which I thought was very good. This is a good alternative to the other downtown German restaurants. Small parking lot. You will probably have to park on the street. Nice bar to wait for your table at. Try it.

Helpful?
1 Thank cknollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you're looking for a traditional German restaurant décor, this is the place! Not as fancy as some of the downtown Milwaukee staples like Mader's, but in my mind this is just as good or better! Our party of 4 had 3 who went for traditional German...Weiner schnitzel (with the poached egg!) and rouladen. All three were proclaimed excellent! Personally I was in the mood for a fish fry...and I had a wonderful selection of fish and presentations (baked, fried, battered, breaded) although not all fish in all presentations. I chose the walleye and was not disappointed. Very lightly breaded and fried, the wonderful flavor of the fish came through. I went with a dumpling instead of potatoes, it, too, was light and delicious!
Our waitress was attentive without being obtrusive.
On this cold winter night, the place was full. Many appeared to be regulars, but with a reservation we were seated immediately. I would highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank reb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kegel's Inn also viewed

 

Been to Kegel's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing