We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat German food in Milwaukee”
Review of Kegel's Inn

Kegel's Inn
Ranked #74 of 1,520 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Milwaukee's West Allis neighborhood, Kegel's Inn serves up the most authentic German fare in the area. Inside you'll find a warm atmosphere, friendly service and one of the most beautiful beer halls in the country. With incredible murals, leaded glass, and heavy wooden beams, one can almost hear rounds of "Du Bist Mein Herzen" reverberating in the Bierstube. Since 1924, Kegel's Inn has been the locals' go-to destination for authentic German cuisine and continues to top the charts as one of the best places to catch a Friday Fish Fry in Milwaukee. At Kegel's Inn, everything is made from time honored traditional recipes. Like the rest of our establishment, things haven't changed much since we first opened our doors in 1924. Sure, there may be some new faces, but our steadfast commitment to our customers and our family values keeps our atmosphere warm and inviting, our service fast and neighborly, and our delicious food in accordance to the highest standards of our family lineage. At the end of the day, our goal is that your experience gets better every time you come in. Danke Schön!
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great place to eat German food in Milwaukee”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We ate dinner here the night before visiting the Wisconsin State Fair. We parked outside right in front of the place, which is supposedly the most authentic German beer hall and restaurant in the area. It has incredible murals, leaded glass and heavy wooden beams. To eat, I had boneless half-duck, a specialty, while my wife had hasenpfeffer (rabbit stew). The meal included soup and salad and all the food was very tasty. We were too full to try dessert. Service was friendly and paced about right.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    40
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I went with my German class. The service was good and so wa the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank ScenicSights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent German Food at Good Prices”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our second visit to Kegel's Inn and we were just as impressed as the first visit. We each had the wiener schnitzel and it was really good; served hot and with lemon wedges. I had the spaetzels for my side and my wife had the German potato salad. The dinner comes with a cup of soup and salad and some rolls and crackers. We each had a Miller Lite and got one cherry strudel to go, which was also excellent.

Our server was friendly and very efficient. Overall, there is nothing I could think of to improve our dining experience here. The total cost, including tip, was $65, which is significantly less than the "name" German restaurants in downtown Milwaukee would charge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbyb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb for what it is...”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place is old school. The decor of hunting murals and stained glass windows are a perfect pairing to the food, which was really good German fair, huge portions, and good beers on tap. All this with friendly, efficient , and quick service. I imagine this place has changed very little perhaps since 1924, but why should it change. It is exactly what it should be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LSRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where's the Beef? at Kegel Inn”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After viewing most of the tripadvisor reviews, and not looking to pay Mader's or Ratsch's prices, I chose the Kegel Inn for dinner. Alright, it was a Monday evening and the only thing happening was the tatooed Sabrina Soto look alike at the end of the bar. Staff was friendly but the food was disappointing and overpriced slop. Ordered the Sauerbraten for $17.95 with soup & salad. Chicken dumpling soup was fine, salad standard but the Sauerbraten was deli roast beef smothered in what appeared to be canned sweet & sour sauce. So much sauce you couldn't even see the beef! Don't bother with the food, enjoy the German beer selections.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kegel's Inn also viewed

 

Been to Kegel's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing