We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edel-wow...”

Edelweiss Cruise Lines
Ranked #654 of 1,518 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Asian, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
257 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Edel-wow...”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I booked the Beer And Brat Cruise and I never had so much fun in my life. A great way to meet some of the greatest people. Awesome views of the city and lake. Only one type of brat was served (and I wished that they were grilled a bit longer though) but are all-you-can-eat. Local beers are served and are all-you-can-drink. I had a BLAST. I want to try their other cruises also...what a way to experience Milwaukee to the fullest! If you want more brats, the Milwaukee Brat House is around the corner from where passengers board/exit. Edelweiss and Milwaukee go hand in hand. Book online in advance to make sure you get on (some cruises sell out fast, especially with events going on around town). Arrive at least 20 minutes before boarding...lines can get long, and fast. Old World 3rd Street is a great place to hang out with restaurants and the Old German Beer Hall as Milwaukee landmarks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrCrossIsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    11
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surf and Turf cruise--great date!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I went on the Surf and Turf dinner cruise for our anniversary. It was wonderful. The food and service was great. Beautiful views of the city. Great for an anniversary, birthday or special event!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacysmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time! ”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We thought the cruise was great! We went on the Champagne Brunch cruise, and, started out at the Ports 'o Call restaurant. In addition to the lovely setting on the river where it leaves from, the boat, called the Harbor Lady, was very clean, and the staff was personable and attentive.
The food was excellent, and there was certainly enough to fill you up! Started with a champagne and orange juice (perfect for mimosas), then a fruit plate. Next came baguette French Toast, bacon, sausage, potatoes, and a wonderful egg and vegetable strata (similar to a quiche).
The cruise went down the river, passing many eateries, boats, kayakers, and historic buildings, before going out to onto Lake Michigan, for a wonderful view of the Milwaukee skyline. I would highly recommend this 2-hour cruise, to anyone interested in seeing some of Milwaukee's sights, and having a great meal at the same time.

Helpful?
1 Thank dnerding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ugh! Dirty and Disappointing”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We went for the afternoon Historic Milwaukee Tour. Ugh! I would NEVER recommend this particular tour to anyone.

The boat is mostly enclosed with big dirty scratched up windows you can barely see out of. The inside looks like a 1980's bad banquet hall...vinyl banquet chairs scattered around tables with yellowing tablecloths. Nothing is secured down. The maroon printed carpet is filthy...and it smells bad.

Unless you are one of the first to board and can get either a space on the few seats outside on the bow, or at the window, you are stuck sitting at a table in the middle of the room with strangers or standing at the back. They sell way more tickets than they have seats, so we ended up sitting on top of some plastic boxes at the back of the boat. Uncomfortable to say the lease. The tour guide said if we could find a chair inside, we could bring it out of the back...SHOULDN'T THEY BE DOING THIS FOR THE CUSTOMERS, instead of making us do it ourselves?? The service was horrible with no regard or appreciation for the customers. No "Thank you for sailing with us" or making sure everyone is comfortable.

The tour guide was some young guy with a 'dude' attitude. But the speakers outside were so bad we missed half of what he was saying anyway.

Only redeeming thing was the beautiful views of Milwaukee and the booze...helped us forget the money we wasted booking this tour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripcrixchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cruise Line”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Summerfest officials have rescheduled the Big Bang Fireworks Show for Thursday, June 26th at 9:30 p.m. This is due to expected dense fog. The Edelweiss BIG BANG cruise however, will not reschedule, either will they refund your $50 per ticked price. So you can either just forfeit the price of all the tickets you purchased or take a boat ride on the Milwaukee River in the fog. What a great outfit this is. NOT !!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edelweiss Cruise Lines also viewed

 

Been to Edelweiss Cruise Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing