We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty empanadas & soup”
Review of Cubanitas

Cubanitas
Ranked #118 of 1,520 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Wisconsin
Bronx, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty empanadas & soup”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went to Cubanitas for lunch one day during a short visit. They had great black bean soup and spinach empanadas. Not a lot on the menu for a vegetarian (it is Cuban food after all), but I was impressed with what there was. And, I asked... no lard in the black bean soup.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ARC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    83
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the Cuban Sandwhich”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I decided to try the Cuban sandwich and was thoroughly impressed! The spices were really yummy, and the portion size was just right. I didn't get a chance to try anything else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great cuban sandwiches and setting”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perfect spot for lunch. Great cuban sandwiches.
Inside of the restaurant had a lot of character of an old, historic building and a great outside seating area too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were in Milwaukee for pleasure, and decided to have lunch at Cubanitas. We started our lunch with Bloody Marys, which were delicious! They were spicy, so be sure to ask for a mild one if you cannot tolerate much spice.
Our sandwiches were great - I had the Cuban, and my husband had the daily special. They were both delicious. The atmosphere was also very pleasant and the staff was friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cubanitas - Cuban Festival !”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend was performing at the festival so we arrived a bit early to the restaurant. The restaurant has great Cuban-bohemian atmosphere. Staff is really friendly. The Festival is free to the public. Their section of the street is closed for the event. You can buy a bracelet that will give you access to the buffet. I was very impressed with the croquetas... considering that it was "mass production" food (for the Festival) I expected the food to be a 5 out of a 10 but I was pleasantly surprised when every thing on the plate was excellent. I highly recommend the croquetas! As for the Mojitos... I was disappointed (heavy on the ice, mint was not crushed, not enough alcohol...etc.)... there were being made at an impromptu bar on the sidewalk. The performers at this year were really great... salsa, son montunos, mambo, etc. They had a short salsa dance class and a demonstration of Cuban dances!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarYelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cubanitas also viewed

 
Milwaukee, WI
Milwaukee, WI
 

Been to Cubanitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing