We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BIG changes coming soon!”
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
Reserve with OpenTable
The Anchorage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 1,508 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The redesigned Anchorage restaurant and River's Edge Lounge uses high quality locally sourced ingredients to enhance all their dishes.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
178 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“BIG changes coming soon!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile


Soon to be remodeled and under new name in June or so 2014!

Restaurant is just great. Brian at the bar is an icon and had better be there when the place changes!

Be forewarned that the signature red snapper soup has a bite to it but tasty! Wait staff needs to know what is in the entrees! The New England clam chowder is more spicy than I care for. Had to send back dirty glass & fork. I do not understand how it even gets on the table unnoticed.

Staff today tried very hard to please. A lot of older handicap people at lunch as well as professionals. Pretty view. Must be great place on a summers night.

Vance the shuttle driver is amazing, if you get a chance to discuss his story growing up down south picking Cotten, well, what an honor to hear his story!

Hotel. Pillow smelled of some other man smell , no hot tub, cold pool door lock problems. Room heater had a mind of its own.

Place is very clean and inspire of some well resolved issues, I would definitely recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank mabarley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments and insights!

Celebrating a 40th anniversary this year, we are quite proud to have a restaurant with the notoriety and acclaim as The Anchorage to be a part of the hotel setting. We consider The Anchorage to be an important amenity and asset to our overall hotel image!

While the hotel may receive new owners and a new brand later this year, they have expressed the desire to build around and enhance the success and popularity of The Anchorage itself!

Part of this also involves our staff members!
From the hotel side to the restaurant side, I am extremely proud of their efforts!
They do make us a special facility!

Thanks as well for your other observations, especially as we have a number of newer Anchorage and hotel staff members, and can use your comments as learning tools to maintain our 40-year quality!

We certainly look forward to being a part of your dining options in the future!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    44
    26
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood and service”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Four of us arrived for our reservation at 6:15pm on a Saturday night. We had asked for a window seat and were lead immediately to a wonderful round table overlooking the river. The hostess, Lydia, was very friendly and did check back with us a couple of times during the meal to see if we had everything we needed. I had the red snapper soup and halibut and they were great. Others had scallops, salmon and chicken--all thought they were great. Our server, Kyle, was very attentive, friendly and paced his approaches so that we could talk and catch up on things.
All in all a great experience! It is a little pricey, but we think it was worth it. We have lived in the Milwaukee area for years, but this was only the 2nd time we ate there, will certainly go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments after dining at The Anchorage!

Our signature restaurant is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year, and while synonymous for its river views and quality entrée selections, The Anchorage is also known for its efficient and personable service! I'm glad to read that this combination, highlighting some of our staff members as well as popular dishes, made for a great evening!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shaky start to service, phenomenal recovery”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We knew we were taking out chances choosing a seafood restaurant on Friday during lent. The place was slammed. We were seated and waited and waited and waited. The hostess Lydia noticed our lack of service and got right on it. She sent waitress Kelly, over to right a wrong. After a long day both myself and dinning companion were tired and cranky. Kelly's sunny disposition changed that. She performed her job above and beyond. April the manager for the night came over to apologize for the initial delay and comped deserts. Lydia also checked in on us to make sure all was okay. We are not high maintenance people and hope we didn't come off as difficult. The manager, hostess and waitress turned around what could have been a bad experience into a wonderful, relaxing evening. Our food was also top notch. We started with oysters Rockefeller , I has the paella, my companion had the Grouper special. All in all a great night. We will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so very much for giving us your feedback following dining at The Anchorage, our noted restaurant that is celebrating a 40th anniversary this year!

I'm glad to read that the tentative start to the evening was quickly remedied by our staff. Great views of the river and wonderful seafood entrées can only be appreciated when presented by knowledgeable and efficient waitstaff members!

With great responses over some of our signature dishes like Paella and Oysters Rockefeller, I hope to welcome you back soon so you can sample and appreciate some more!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I can not pull the words together in one sentence. Brian, Kyle, Sandy and Lydia are excellent ambassadors. They exemplify excel”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Excellent.
I can not pull the words together in one sentence.
Brian, Kyle, Sandy and Lydia are excellent ambassadors. They exemplify excellence in customer satisfaction.
The food is excellent. I had the Anchorage Scallops and my dinner guest had the steak. His son also had the scallops. The asparagus was awesome. The total meals were excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayakerJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
It's always nice to read a guest commentary that begins with the word 'excellent'!

Thank you so very much for this, as well as for citing key staff members of The Anchorage that proudly represent our noted restaurant! The combination of river views and wonderful seafood entrées would not have the effect without a dedicated staff, both in the restaurant and in the kitchen!

This has allowed The Anchorage to reach a much-deserved 40th anniversary. We hope to continue to welcome you back!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Seafood around”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great atmosphere and value. Fantastic food. They service is great. Hands down, great restaurant. Have been coming here for 16 years.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thadhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for your comments and your patronage over the years!

Glad to read that the combination of great seafood, service, and views have made The Anchorage an area favorite for the past 40 years!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchorage also viewed

 

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing