We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Cold Outside But Warm and Fun Inside”
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
Reserve with OpenTable
The Anchorage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The redesigned Anchorage restaurant and River's Edge Lounge uses high quality locally sourced ingredients to enhance all their dishes.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's Cold Outside But Warm and Fun Inside”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We enjoyed our bartender Sandy so much we passed on the beautiful scenery at the table and ate at the bar. Sandy is always happy and upbeat. She doesn't hesitate to make suggestions for food, some on the menu and some she comes up with on her own. Either way, it is always terrific. We had a wonderful time, wonderful food and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jwilimitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your prior stay at our Hotel, especially the ones relating to your dining experience in our restaurant, The Anchorage! (As the new General Manager of the Hotel, I am catching-up to previously made online comments and suggestions.)

Comments like yours are both appreciated, as well as forwarded to the applicable departments and individuals, as they are learning tools to maintain these service levels.

I agree, that Sandy is a tremendous asset for The Anchorage! Her experience, enthusiasm, and pride in the restaurant shows every day! More so recently, as The Anchorage completed an enhancement project to give it a fresher, more contemporary look.

Now a proud 35-year-plus history of dining excellence in the area is coupled with new menus and a new decor!

I invite you back to sample it all first-hand!

-- Michael Dietrich, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    47
    26
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fiood and great staff.”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

You must eat at the Anchorage restaurant in the hotel. They have a great view of the Milwaukee River and the food is superb. If you have time, have a drink at the bar. The bartender, Jill, is fabulous and if you return to the hotel again, I guarantee you that Jill will gteet you by name.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marlene_clough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Red Snapper Soup”
Reviewed March 5, 2011

If you like fresh seafood this is the place to go. The Red Snapper Soup is the best I ever had. Also i have tried the Scallops which are large an wrapped in bacon, they where excellent. My favorite is the Sand Dabs, not always on the menu, but are as good as when I was in California. The setting of the Anchorage is excellent, with a view of the river. The dinner menu is a little pricey but well worth the cost. The staff is friendly along with a great bartender name Jill. Always a good selection of wines by the glass. If you dont want a full meal then try the great bar menu. Overall a wonderful experience. A great place to take a business client. lpsjr

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lpsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“More Expensive Than Expected, Small Portions”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Practically every dinner entree was priced over $20. Steak dishes were $30 and over with the exception of the petite filet at $23. The side dish I was served with the steak was two small red potatoes. Big price, little food.

Tables are crammed together so you're guaranteed to hear the loud-mouth behind you.

I got suckered with a $15 off coupon and was surprised when they socked me with an 18% mandatory tip that amounted $10.50--so I really saved $4.50.


You can go to the best steak house in Milwaukee and spend less for a steak than you do at this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnG1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Big Let Down”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Being one of the most highly rated restaurants for Milwaukee on this site, we visited Anchorage with high expectations. The food was WAYY overpriced with only an average taste. I don't think there was an entree for less than $20. Although the view on the water was nice, there was absolutely no other appealing atmosphere. Old carpets, weird smell, outdated decor, and full of old people. The clam chowder we ordered had an off taste - nothing close to the best I've had. Seafood was fresh and cooked well, but lacking any flavor. The side dishes were skimpy and flavorless. No complaints about the service or the free peppermints...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank New2MKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchorage also viewed

 

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing