We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of My Favorite Places” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benji's Delicatessen & Restaurant

Benji's Delicatessen & Restaurant
Ranked #85 of 1,502 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I like coming to Benji's on my own and sitting at the counter. I like to shoot the stuff with staff and contemplate which of my favorite items I'll order. It could be the outrageous matzo ball soup, a delicious meatloaf sandwich on challah (with a side of au jus and onion slices!), corned beef hash (I love the side of slaw that is served with it)or the potato pancakes. Good down-home cooking!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
257 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Delicatasty...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

In a north Milwaukee suburb a few blocks north of Capitol is Benji's. The deli sits at the end of a strip mall with a narrow lot that has very tight parking. Upon entering, a takeout deli is to the immediate right and a classic diner area to the left. Bathrooms are down a long flight of stairs past the deli.

I sat at the counter and loved the waitress. If you miss the days of the joys of being in a neighborhood diner where the waitress treats you like a friend, this is your place. Neighborly, easygoing, and a place worth returning to.

Delicious food that is plentiful and will fill you up. From seeing Adam Richman order the "Hear O Israel" sandwich, I did the same. I was stuffed. The meat is hand-cut and the variety on both the deli and restaurant menu gives dozens of options worth coming back to try.

Loved it. A true taste of America and Milwaukee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCrossIsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the deli of Shorewood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This deli/restaurant is simple, delicious, friendly, and exactly what you'd want from a deli diner restaurant. Great food, relaxing atmosphere, good and plentiful coffee from servers who'll remember their regulars and their orders even if they don't see you for months.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank huliganjetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Pastrami, Corned Beef, and Matzo Ball Soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Benji's is an old fashioned deli with excellent food and great service! Great breakfasts, wonderful sandwiches, and excellent soup. My personal favorite is the Pastrami on rye bread - just an awesome sandwich. The Gonzo is really tasty as well. By far, one of the best chicken soups in Milwaukee - try the matzo ball version (though the noodle version is great too!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ckopczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, long drive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went to Benji's based on Man Vs. Food - The food was ok. Worth saying you've been there, but for a brief visit to Milwaukee I wont be back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RFiocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benji's Delicatessen & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Benji's Delicatessen & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing