We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for drinks!”

Swingin' Door Exchange
Ranked #6 of 1,526 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are located in the historic Mackie Building in downtown Milwaukee. Come visit us for great food, fine spirits, good people and the history of the buildings architecture, as well as the famous "Grain Exchange" located upstairs.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great spot for drinks!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I spent a couple hours at Swingin' Door before a wedding reception next door at the Grain Exchange. We had a blast! Cute little hole in the wall with a great beer selection and a fully stocked bar. Wonderful service from all bartenders who were working their butts off! The food that was coming out of the kitchen looked and smelled delicious, but we held off for the hors d'oeuvres at the cocktail hour. They've also got a few TVs to catch the game on. Great spot!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swit0028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    109
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Cool friendly place!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good food.
Good service.
Friendly.
Not expensive.
Good for tourists and locals.
What else can you say? Kinda reminded me of a "CHEERS" type of place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JALToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“"Great, affordable meal"”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Don't miss out on the $5.00 Wed mussel special. Generous portion and the garlic chardonnay sauce with crusty bread was awesome. If you choose the pulled pork sandwich, the sauce is more on the spicy side rather than sweet.
Nice place that seemed to be frequented by locals as well as out-of-towners.
Went based on TA reviews and was not disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
1,088 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Great dinner before the show!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just a few blocks away from the Riverside, so it was a good place for a casual dinner. Ate in the bar area. Service was great (Emily). So was the food --- I had the chicken tender salad with cajun dressing, and we shared the carrot cake for dessert. Yummy! Reasonably priced too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rollngstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place is a hoot! Old fashion décor and great food. We had a group for breakfast and everyone was very happy! The egg specialties are wonderful as is the bacon, sausage and breads. Just a fun place with good food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FunTravelerForSure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swingin' Door Exchange also viewed

 

Been to Swingin' Door Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing