We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food, moderate service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swingin' Door Exchange

Swingin' Door Exchange
Ranked #5 of 1,485 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are located in the historic Mackie Building in downtown Milwaukee. Come visit us for great food, fine spirits, good people and the history of the buildings architecture, as well as the famous "Grain Exchange" located upstairs.
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, moderate service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here on a Saturday night and it was not too busy. We got seats at the bar and ate our food their too. The service was fair, they could have been a little more interested, rather they seemed too busy (even though it was not that busy in the bar). We got our food within 10 minutes and it was delicious. I highly recommend the carrots for a side-they are cooked in dry vermouth and are absolutely delicious! I had the pulled pork that was great and my boyfriend had the prime dip which he loved. Our total bill was only 35 with tip which is not bad for a dinner in Milwaukee. Would highly recommend this place if you are in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swingindoorexchange, Owner at Swingin' Door Exchange, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for giving us your feedback. I am glad to here you enjoyed your meal. I hope you will try us again. We enjoy reading your thoughts. KC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    83
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Downtown Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went here before a show at the Riverside. In close proximity - a short walk to the theatre. We found the cocktails to be strong, the beer cold and the bartender was nice. We had planned ahead to eat our dinner here due to the good tripadvisor reviews.

They had a ribeye special for $10.95! We were seated at the bar near the kitchen and a kitchen guy kept coming out to the bar bringing out food orders, and so I asked him about this ribeye for $10.95 (thinking that at that price it just can't be any good). He laughed and suggested I try it.

Very very tasty, grilled as ordered medium rare, and I was very glad I ordered it. We also had some deep fried shrimp that had a good shrimp flavor - not just all breading. Homemade potato chips were a great treat as well.

A fun place with good food - I have to recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachinBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swingindoorexchange, Owner at Swingin' Door Exchange, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm glad you tried it too. Thanks for your kind words and for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you. Hope it was a great concert!
KC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A downtown must stop and try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

In town and staying at the Hilton Garden Inn on Broadway. Returning late, noticed the place, gave it a try and dined here 3 times over 6 days. Absolutely enjoyed the food and drink . A bit noisy on the speakers, but find the right table. Service and food is great and at excellent and fair prices. Maybe the 4th visit on my last evening stay.??!!

Helpful?
Thank TrvlgMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swingindoorexchange, Owner at Swingin' Door Exchange, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your support. It's nice to know you enjoyed our establishment enough to keep coming back even on such a short stay. And by the way, I can agree with you, we are looking into some sound solutions. Thanks again. KC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I must thank my fellow trip advisors for the great heads up on Swingin' Door! Went here this past Saturday night and couldn't have been happier! We showed up about 45 minutes before our reservation and they were more than happy to accomodate us! We were greeted warmly, and fell in love with the place for it's quaintness and lovely people! Oh, and I should also mention that the food was the BEST food we had all weekend, and the price.... oh my gosh, we had an incredible dinner and drinks for less than we spent on parking for a night in downtown! WOW!!!! It's a great spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better then average food + good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Friendly, better then average bar food with daily specials at decent prices makes this a good place for a quick no-fuss dinner or drinks

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChiTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swingin' Door Exchange also viewed

 

Been to Swingin' Door Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing