We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices and selection for the veggie minded”

Beans & Barley Market and Cafe
Ranked #58 of 1,518 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Nashville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good prices and selection for the veggie minded”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Breakfasts are especially tempting here. Very low key atmosphere with terrific food and service. The food is mostly local and organic so you pay a little more. If your party includes a vegetarian, there are many tempting choices on all menus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    39
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fresh and flavorful is always the case for breakfast at Beans and Barley! I had the healthy eggs benedict with tomatoes and avacado (instead of meat) and it was wonderful! The coffee is great and all the pastries are delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravelerForSure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
227 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Trempealu walnut burgers, and more”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Near North and Oakland this is an unusual mix of hipsters and grandparents for lunch. Sunny big dining area, they had delicious soup and "Trempealu" (a small town in western WI) black walnut burger, a hard to find delicacy. Portions were on the small side, and a little more pricey, but delicious! You are paying for local, fresh, often organic quality. Lets face the facts, that cost more than cheap, hormone infused imported from who-knows-where via Walmart food stuffs. Staff were nice and cleaning throughout the lunch rush. It is connected to a little shop where you can buy frozen walnut burgers, and anything from tea tree oil to yoga mats to granola and apples. Vegetarians should go there for sure, and omnivores should expand their horizons to include Beans and Barley,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“such a great meal , interesting and delicious”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I was just at Beans and Barley with my daughter... It was late on a week night. The food was wonderful and so was our server. We had the beets and aurgula salad along with the chicken breast dinner. The whole experience was grea..t plus... we could shop for a few things while we waited for our table. I got gifts to bring home to Door County to give to my husband and other family members. I love this place and go back when ever we are in MIlwaukee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay view
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Beans & Barley never disappoints. Good food and good service. Love the omelettes, burritos, sandwiches, soups, pies, Monday spaghetti night. It's all good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WARMSPRINGSROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beans & Barley Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beans & Barley Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing