We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcano Chicken”
Review of The King and I

The King and I
Ranked #133 of 1,520 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Volcano Chicken”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As Drake would say, the best I eva had. WORD! The waitresses were nice. Food was seriously the best. A little expensive but that is because i am a poor college dude. But forsure a great place to go out, bring the girl and eat some good ole thai food. Bathrooms were clean. Surprisingly at 5:00pm we got in with no wait. Highly recommend this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    45
    29
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really enjoyed the food and great service. Great location across the street from the Hyatt regency. Would eat here again

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CK202120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UP Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We joined my sister and her husband at the King and I for dinner, and were overall very pleased with the service and food. The chicken satay appetizer was a little dry, but the hot & sour soup was very flavorful. Our favorite dish, however, was Volcano Chicken, which was one of their specialties. The location is downtown, and within easy walking distance of many downtown hotels. The kitchen is within easy view, and was fun to watch preparation of the many dishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaydeNoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We only get to the King and I once a year, but every time is delicious. The Volcano Chicken can't be beat for flavor. Kang with beef, green curry and coconut milk is to die for. Add a little "adventurous" spice to it and WOW. Service as usual is great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Thai food at a decent price”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their food. Lovely atmosphere. Good price. i had the red curry. it was just spicy enough to make me perspire while I was eating it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King and I also viewed

 

Been to The King and I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing