We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burgers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solly's Grille

Solly's Grille
Ranked #116 of 1,502 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great burgers but ones that you better limit yourself to one a month. Its the butter that makes it and that says it all. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    18
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great burger joint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Have heard about Solly's for years, finally got there AND it was worth it. This is an old fashioned burger joint with great food and friendly staff. Most of the seating is on stools around the counter. Menu is mostly burgers and a few other things like a chicken sandwich. I had a bacon double cheeseburger with grilled onions, fries and a hot fudge malt. This was a true butter burger with a nice dollop of butter on the bun and the cheese just dripping down the side of the sandwich. Fries were hot and good as was the malt served in the metal mixing container with a glass on the side. I also tried their chili and it was good and meaty.

My wife had a double cheeseburger with raw onion, fries and a chocolate malt. All of which she enjoyed.

Solly's is a fast paced place, not set up for the leisurely meal. You sit down, order, eat, enjoy and leave. We got there a little after 6 on Saturday and were lucky enough to get a seat without waiting. Others arriving after us waited for seats at the counter to open up but no one decided not to wait. A tribute to a great place.

The only reason I rated it low for families with children is finding more than 2 seats together at the counter when they are busy. As far as special occasions go this is not the type of place I would go for that unless you were treating someone to a great burger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Most Overrated Restaurant in Milwaukee”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My father occasionally took me to Solly's at its former location when I was a kid. (I'm collecting Social Security now.) I remember the burgers as exceptional, and being taken to Solly's was a big treat.

Apparently everyone's father took him/her here, because the restaurant still has great word-of-mouth, but the house speciality, burgers, have become disgusting. The burger patty itself has no taste. The bun, which is flimsy and also tasteless, swims in a large puddle of butter on the plate. I counted 37 individually wrapped pounds of butter sitting next to the grill today. Why not eliminate the expense of the ground beef and simply slap a slab of butter between the buns?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuceriasBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GREAT Hamburgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Little place along the road with BIG flavors! Sit at the counter and experience old fashioned hamburgers, fries and malts!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“How do they stay in business??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Burger was basically grease - so much butter and god knows what else that it made me literally gag. This was the common opinion of all of us. Maybe it's a joke they play on out of towners??? I don't know - but we certainly will never try and find out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etlaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solly's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Solly's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing