We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much food! So delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Karl Ratzsch Restaurant - CLOSED

Karl Ratzsch Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Old World German restaurant reopened with new menu and new chef/owner Thomas Hauck, features German cuisine in a classic European setting.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So much food! So delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I went here instead of Maters. Wow! Valerie was our sever. And she was a gem! The icing on the cake. We each got different dishes to share. And she even subbed one component of my friends sampler platter when it was the same as my dish. Just so we could try more.

And this was the best goose I've ever had!!!

Go and walk around and stay for some delicious comfort food!!! Just plan for a nap after ;)

Helpful?
1 Thank RXGNOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    88
    39
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“..nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Expensive, yet...Excellent value!
I've been and eaten in Deutschland, praising WestBend's BraisingPan, Gibs, Kewaunee, and other excellent German dining experiences in northern Wisconsin, BavarianInn, Lena.

We used an buy one, get one(with conditions) EntertainmentBook coupon, went here for a unique German dining experience with my future wife and parents. The ambiance and food here was nearly as authentic as their competition west across the Milwaukee River, Maders.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardsworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portage wi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bavaria Nostalgia trip w/ good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Karl Ratzsch's has been around forever but it doesn't disappoint - IF you like, or what to try, German food. They have a great "lighter fare" menu that is cheaper, with smaller portions for the early diner (4:30-6:00, Monday thru Friday) that is a great idea if the timing works for you. I'm partial to the Goose Shank and you could easily split it w/ another person but it's rare to find this on a menu and they continue to do a great job w/ it. Valet service is only $5 which is worth it. The food is a bit heavy - hey, it's German - so pace yourself or take some home BECAUSE you'll want to save room for dessert. I'm partial to the Schaum Torte. The decor can feel a little "kitschy" as ANYTHING Bavarian is displayed somewhere but hey, enjoy it and your meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great atmosphere, service and food. This is such a wonderful Milwaukee favorite and has the history to demonstrate its commitment to Milwaukee and all its traditions. I absolutely love this place~!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Try the fowl!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Went on a recommendation of my coworker, who told me I couldn't leave Milwaukee without eating German food. This is his personal favorite, and has become mine, too. From the German decor to the waitresses in dirndls, this is the best place in Milwaukee for German - and worth paying for. Had a duck-goose platter (34.50) and a side salad with homemade sour cream parmesan dressing. Easily the best duck I have ever had. Don't miss the desserts, either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pucktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Ratzsch Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing