We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better microbrew eateries.”

Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wells Ave
West Coast (of Lake Michigan)
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One of the better microbrew eateries.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

There are many so-called "microbrew" restaurants out there, but many have average (at best) beer and your typical cheese burger/French fry menus. Not so for Rock Bottom. They have arguably the best home brew I've ever had, and in fact I asked if their beer was available outside of the restaurant setting (Unfortunately, not at this time). What's more is that their menu was surprisingly unique, with stuff you just don't see at places like this. I'd compare it to Cheesecake Factory with regard to selection/preparation, which is pretty good-- but then you add great beer, too? A very solid choice for downtown Milwaukee dining.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChaosTheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    301
    111
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North of Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Minimal Choice of Beers”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went on a Saturday afternoon about 2:00 so it was empty. They only serve their brewed beers plus Miller Lite. The beer I chose was the strawberry one and they were out of it. Makes no sense when you barely have any choices that you run out of beer. We just had a couple of Miller Lites, looked at the menu, it looked OK with several standard choices people have in most places, we decided to go someplace else for dinner. The place was very clean and cute, we just didn't love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda D, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that our beer choices were limited on your recent visit. I will be sure to share this information with our management team so that they can address the issues you mentioned. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please email me at rbsocialcomments@cwrestaurants.com and i will be in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and place”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I like the food and the place together with the beers only the front desk shows a little discrimination but the server is so good

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank randy661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Appetizers were, so was the beer”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stop in quick for some snacks. The street tacos are spicy and good. If you don't like the heat, you better pass.
The jalapeño cheese dip was a good balance but easily thickened. So eat quickly or prepare to cut the dip with a knife.
Service was excellent. Very prompt with drinks, food, and service.

Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,507 reviews
797 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 890 helpful votes
“Great beer - decent food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was in town on business and was walking around the Riverwalk when I spotted the Rock Bottom.

The place was packed and I found a seat at the bar.

I was impressed with their selection of beers and friendly staff. I liked the Naughty Scot Scotch Ale. Food was pretty good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing