We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent old school Italian!”

Carini's La Conca D'Oro
Reserve with OpenTable
Carini's La Conca D'Oro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Edgewood
Transit: On corner of Edgewood and Oakland 1/2 block north of restaurant
Milwaukee, wi
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent old school Italian!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Carini's is always a reliable go-to for good Italian! LOVE the eggplant spedini - not easy to find anywhere. Great lunch time to-to as well as dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cao1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You need to try this place”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We ate there for lunch Friday, April 25. The buffet was really really good. 2 soups, both home made. Clam chowder, and a tomato vegetable. Wonderful flavors.
The fried eggplant was thin, crispy, hot, and melted in your mouth. The home made salads were tasty as well. Fried cod ( a nod to Friday) was crisp and delicious. My husband's favorite were the hot eggplant roll ups. Pietro (chef/owner) greeted us personally and made a point of letting us know everything was created and prepared that day from fresh ingredients. Pietro checked back several times to be sure everything was OK. The $12.95 buffet price was not unreasonable for what you got, and being in a big city. We will definitely be eating here again. We sat at a window table, and the sliding glass windows can be opened for an outdoor dining experience weather permitting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orgelmeister7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Carini's Sicilian Reataurant is the Best!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I were visiting Milwaukee and wanted to grab dinner before going home. We found Carini's La Conca D'Oro and were welcomed personally by Pietro and his staff. We ordered the bruschetta appetizer and a glass of their own Moscato. These were delicious! My wife had the Lasagna Rolls with Vodka sauce, superb. I ordered the rack of lamb, suggested by the wonderful waitress, and was totally surprised by the fresh flavor with garlic and herbs. It was one of the best meals I ever had. Our experience was AAA+++. I would definitely endorse this for a romantic dinner spot or a friends night out. I plan on driving the 1 1/2 hrs. to dine here soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a great place to have dinner”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My experience at this restaurant has been always a great one. I had dinner there about 3 1/2 weeks ago before leaving for Europe. It is a good place and bring clients from out of the country all the times. I never had a disappointment. I also make some comments on 2 of the reviews listed , Beachedwales and Jobs and have no idea why they would not return. When jobs listed the places he recommends I can understand why type of restaurants he/she goes. Cheap and pizza. Many clients leave small tips in the last 3 years and when you bring a party of 5 , what else you expect. Go to Chicago or Miami or New York and they add 18% no matter how many people.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtravel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Peter never disappoints! Always welcoming....always delicious”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Peter (chef/owner) greeted us at the door and made us feel so welcome. He always sets the mood for a wonderful meal. With such a warm welcome, how could this not be great? Tonight I had the spaghetti carbonara and my wife had the chicken parm. Both were outstanding. The salads were fresh and the balsamic vinaigrette was outstanding. A great bottle of wine topped off the meal. Peter, as always checked on us during the meal and entertained us with his stories.
Carini's is a gem of a restaurant. We've had both of our children's graduation dinners there (the back room is great for large groups), several quiet dinners and many wonderful lunch buffets. You can't go wrong here. Thanks, Peter!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carini's La Conca D'Oro also viewed

 

Been to Carini's La Conca D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing