We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions and decent food. ”
Review of The Packing House

The Packing House
Ranked #37 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family owned & operated since 1974. We have something to please even the most discriminating diners! Ribs, steaks, seafood, poultry & veal. Weekday lunch, dinners nightly. Prime Rib on Wednesday, Saturday & Sundays. Friday fish fry. Live music in the lounge Wednesday thru Saturday nights.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Big portions and decent food. ”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

When I initially saw "live music Wed-Sunday" I had not anticipated lounge/bluesy jazz music. This place is definitely dated, and seemed kindof smokey inside, which did go with the bluesy atmosphere but that's just not really what I wanted I guess. Service was decent, the menu was a little pricey but the food was good and large portions. I wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank bmark091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for the review. We do feature live music Wednesday thru Saturday nights. Although we mix up the performers, we generally feature classic pop, jazz, American standards, and R&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    91
    28
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food but staff not so great.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our food was just great, but the waitress was not very good, had we not been there before I would not been happy at all. She was slow and not very attentive to us. We had to get her attention a couple of times to fill our glasses and to remove our food so we could order desert. She then shorted me $40.00 on our change for the bill, She then made up a new receipt which was still not correct, but gave us the correct change and at that point we were just glad to leave. I think so more training and maybe a few less tables would help her.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank for for the review. Although I am very happy to hear the food was great, I'm disappointed to hear about the poor service. I appreciate you contacting us at the restaurant as well and we look forward to serving you again soon. We have addressed your concerns with the server involved as well as the rest of our service staff. I can assure you that you will not have the same experience on your next visit. Thank you for the opportunity to improve what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
“Perfectly Balanced”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I wish I made a point to be here more often because once again my entire group had a perfect meal without any exceptions. Service is attentive and friendly, cocktails expertly crafted, food (we had a mix of steaks and seafood) was superb. Final bill surprisingly less than what you get. Note that the place has a an updated, younger and trendier feel than I remember from my younger years - great for all ages. While a Milwaukee establishment, this place is a hidden gem that continues to evolve to what you most expect in a great restaurant. This was a reminder to head back more often.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbogacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to serving you more often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Consistently excellent for years”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Packing house has been one of the best South Side restaurants for many years. I love the "throw Back" supper club feel and the many menu options. Hi highly recomment the stuffed mushrooms and waterchestnuts in bacon for an appetizer. I am a creature of habit so I always get a steak. So many place now sell their steak ala carte, this is one of the few landmarks left where you get soup or salad, fresh breat and baked potato with your entree. I would recommend this place to anyone for business or pleasure. Going to the drive thru tonite for the best fish fry on this side of town

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Our family is very proud of our forty plus year tradition of excellence. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our family of eight enjoyed an outstanding Christmas dinner at The Packing House. While very crowded, the food and service were exceptional.

The only drawback, we had to park two blocks away. Expanding the parking lot might not be a bad idea,

We are already planning on spending next Christmas at The Packing House.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We agree that parking can be an issue on such a busy day and have been looking into acquiring nearby overflow parking. Through the hectic day, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us overall. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Packing House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing