We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a big party!”
Review of The Packing House

The Packing House
Ranked #39 of 1,519 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family owned & operated since 1974. We have something to please even the most discriminating diners! Ribs, steaks, seafood, poultry & veal. Weekday lunch, dinners nightly. Prime Rib on Wednesday, Saturday & Sundays. Friday fish fry. Live music in the lounge Wednesday thru Saturday nights.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great place for a big party!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were invited to the celebration dinner of my nephew's graduation from Marquette U. From the outside the place didn't look like much and appeared small. Upon entering you are immediate faced with a lounge from the 60's. Twist around the mirrored hallway to the host stand and you're looking at a rather large dimly lit dining area(did we go underground?) The place seemed very crowded, a good sign. Twisted around more and we entered a rather large private dining area complete with it's own stocked and manned bar, and very private. The first course was appetizers that were awesome! Bacon wrapped roasted chestnuts!, wonderful onion stings, and fried cheeze just to name a few. Salad course was fresh and adequate. Finally, the main course, I had pre-ordered the filet(as did most guest). At first I thought I had made a mistake as It tasted more like a mediocre prime rib, but a little deeper into the cut the flavor came through. The service was excellent! I think I'll have to go back and try the regular dining and menu. I'd especially recommend this place for a reasonably priced place for a large private party.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your favorable review! We host many private parties and earn many return guests from them. We are happy you enjoyed your experience and look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    91
    28
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So dependable”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary here. We have been coming here at least once a year for the last of those 25. We are about 4 hours out of town. I just love the duck and the filet never disappoints. Compared to other restaurants in its class the prices are very reasonable (maybe I shouldn't tell them that). While I would consider it fine dining the dress is casual, but aren't all places that way now? Pasta, steaks, seafood, poultry...you name it. They have a bit of everything but not so much that they are over stretching the chefs abilities.. Great atmosphere in the lounge and service to match.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leopold_Bartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are proud that in our 40 year history we have won so many loyal repeat customers that mark their special occasions with us. Thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward to serving you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“First, a thank you ...”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

... for accommodating a large group at an inconvenient time. The Packing House, a popular restaurant and prime fish fry location, remained open on a Friday afternoon (post-lunch, pre-dinner) to serve our post-funeral group of 16 people. The staff did this graciously and professionally. We thanked them profusely, and availed ourselves of many offerings on their menu. I only had eyes for the fish fry, of course, and when there's a choice between perch and cod, perch always wins. (Perch is nonexistent in south TX, as far as I know.)

I was glad to find that the food at The Packing House is still high quality and delicious. With the exception of the potato pancakes (which did not appear homemade and were tasteless; I remembered them to be MUCH better), everything was solid. The clam chowder was rich and creamy, the coleslaw was crispy and dressed just right, and the fish was fresh and not breaded heavily. After lunch, I tasted a piece of cheesecake that made its way around the table and it was as good as any I've had.

On many trips back home we often seek out a neighborhood bar for a fish fry; they're hidden gems that are often overlooked or simply unknown to those who aren't familiar with the city. It was nice going back to one of the south side's iconic locations.

When we left, dinnertime was approaching and the cars were already lined up through the parking lot and out into the street for The Packing House's carryout window. Now THAT's a following!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the very kind review! We are always happy to accomodate our guests in whatever way we can. We are happy that we pleased you overall and will continue to work to earn "5 stars" on your next visit. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bustling place”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went on a Sat night, had 6:00 reservation, seated right away. Good service, ordered shrimp cocktail, came out quickly and was delicious. Once we all arrived ordered our food; the bread, salads and soup all very good. I ordered petite filet, was OK, not great flavor. Another person had the Steer filet and that was much better. Also had ribs, which were very good and salmon. Prime rib also ordered, no comment given on that. Overall very good service and food. Was very noisy, but a busy night. Also music in the bar sounded nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badgerfansx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you join us again soon. We will continually strive to earn "5 stars" from every one of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mequon,wi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

There were 6 people with us and everyone loved their meal. We had prime rib, filet, and veal dishes and they were all delicious. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. The service was great and the dining room was nicely decorated. We all will return in the very near future. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are always humbled by the compliments of our many happy guests. We will continue our life's work of providing a great dining experience to our visitors. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Packing House also viewed

 

Been to The Packing House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing