We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Milwaukee tradition!”

Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in
Ranked #1 of 23 Dessert in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real Milwaukee tradition!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a real traditional drive up, often compared to Arnold's on the show Happy Days. The food is excellent and if you have never had frozen custard, you have never had the best!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    102
    28
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Super sundae was overpriced but yummy!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I liked the pecans on the top. The frozen custard was not as sweet as Dairy Queen. With strawberry topping the taste was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yipaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the ride...for me”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I mean if its hot or not and your close by sure...nice old school look, ice cream good. Food Blows! Um why is the sloppy joe referred to as a hamburger & secondly as a "Spanish" style burger??? I can see why locals love it...but this is something you go without

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Milwaukee institution”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Their custard is the pure type, no mix-ins. It is rich and delicious. Sundaes are also highly recommended. I only have limited experience with their hamburgers, hot dogs, so I won't comment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Different than Kopps and just as good”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Finally had a chance to try Leon's on the last trip through Milwaukee. My wife and I were not disappointed. Decided to be severe and just go for vanilla which was fantastic.
I do not have as much of a palate to compare this to Kopps so it is more a matter to me of the atmosphere you want around the custard. Leon's offers more of a fifties style hangout. Why choose? Try both.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in also viewed

 

Been to Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing