We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly overrated”

Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in
Ranked #1 of 22 Dessert in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Wauwatosa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Highly overrated”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very old, run down, crappy food. Living off a reputation from years ago. It maybe a landmark, but if you want decent food, there are MANY much better custard stands in WI. Kopps, B52, Roberts, Gilles, etc., etc.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_DebbieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    106
    31
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Leon's is the best custard in Milwaukee!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have eaten a lot of custard but my favorite has always been Leons. It is like the city of Las Vegas, often imitated, but never duplicated. Every time I am on the south side of Milwaukee I have to stop for a "one up mix" on a cone! Nothing beats their hot dogs,chili dogs and turtle sundaes either! Their pecans are meaty and salted which is a great addition to your hot fudge sundae! This place is a must stop if you are in the neighborhood!

Helpful?
Thank julkajulkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classic Custard Diner”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Authentic home made custard doesn't get better than this! Be ready to wait in line during the summer months. People flock to this place. I only wish they offered a place to sit down and enjoy the cusrard.

Helpful?
Thank PaulStreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Co Usa
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Something cold on a cold Day”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had heard of Leon's Frozen Custard and wanted to try it out while in the area. Surprisingly for a cold day they had a steady line of customers. We ordered a quart of chocolate & a quart of raspberry to take home and eat where it was a little warmer. This was a good combination as I had some of both. I enjoy the rich flavor of frozen custard and wish there was more where I live. I would like to go back when it is warmer out to enjoy some custard in a cone or cup right out of the machine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ice cream custard nirvana”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Open since the 1950s, Leon's is the goto place for ice cream cones, hot fudge sundaes, malts and shakes.
I dream of Leon's regularly! A Milwaukee native who's lived most of her life in Texan, Leon's is a must visit whenever I visit the brew town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in also viewed

 

Been to Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing