We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and good wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro

Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,502 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lake Drive
Description: Serving authentic, rustic French cuisine in a bustling bistro setting, the restaurant features a menu that ranges from traditional to more modern and a chef's menu that changes with the seasons. The view of Lake Michigan from the two lake rooms in the Bistro is unrivaled by any other restaurant in the city. Plenty of free parking and a gorgeous park setting make Lake Park Bistro an appealing choice for any dining occasion. Lunch is served Monday through Friday, with guests able to choose from an a la carte menu or from the Menu d'Affaire, which offers a 2-course lunch for $19 and a 3-course lunch for $22. Sunday brunch is among the best in the Midwest, featuring three courses with champagne or a mimosa. Dinner is served nightly, and special events like wine dinners and the annual Black Truffle Dinner are highlights for guests and staff alike.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and good wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Last minute decision to go and really was pleased. Food was really good and the service was better. Nice view of the lake and a pleasant atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fgcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    91
    30
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, with exceptional view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely delicious meal. Try the mussels! Gorgeous view made the evening just perfect. Excellent wine and service was fantastic

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, WI
Level Contributor
135 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“As Close To A European Flair & Tastes As It Gets.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had an online Open Table reservation made days in advance. We celebrated my wife's big birthday here. From the moment we had walked in, we were promptly greeted. When we were going to be seated at the interior seating adjacent to the nice classy bar, I had asked, "How about closer to the window's views of majestic Lake Michigan?". Our lovely hostess returned and led us over to within a table's in between that requested view. That's when I knew we'd have really good service here. We split a warmed goat cheese arugula salad with tomatoes that was quite wonderful. You probably could get your own one as they're a smaller sized but NOT inexpensive at all. I had a special Samedi (French for Saturday) plate essentially called short braised ribs on a bed with potato puree (mashed potatoes). It was ensconced with pearl onions and mushrooms delicately blended in a delicious red wine concoction. Fabulous and so tender that the meat melted inside your mouth. My wife had the filet mignon, which she just savored and was prepared just right to her specifications. So tender again and was delightful. We had two desserts. One was brought gratis for her birthday (they knew). A smaller chocolate gateaux with powdered sugar and a candle lit. Wow. I had a different Gateaux au chocolat with which it had vanilla bean ice cream. Scrumptious! All in all, expect a hefty $140.00 + a gratuity for two with two drinks each. For a nice dinner out and for a special occasion, it was a memorable meal and service to match.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Airbus300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
168 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hit & miss staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stop in for special occasions and business dinners. The wait staff varies widely. I'll have to start remembering names and request certain waiters/waitresses. The food is always very good. The wine selection, even by the glass, is wonderful. The fresh bakery is outstanding.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 358jimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
199 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited for lunch and had extremely friendly and fast service. The food was great... It's literally a Parisian bistro transplanted to the Lakefront in Milwaukee. Prices were very reasonable. Great view and very nice atmosphere...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pickybiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro also viewed

 
Milwaukee, WI
 

Been to Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing