We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class food.”

Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,520 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lake Drive
Description: Serving authentic, rustic French cuisine in a bustling bistro setting, the restaurant features a menu that ranges from traditional to more modern and a chef's menu that changes with the seasons. The view of Lake Michigan from the two lake rooms in the Bistro is unrivaled by any other restaurant in the city. Plenty of free parking and a gorgeous park setting make Lake Park Bistro an appealing choice for any dining occasion. Lunch is served Monday through Friday, with guests able to choose from an a la carte menu or from the Menu d'Affaire, which offers a 2-course lunch for $19 and a 3-course lunch for $22. Sunday brunch is among the best in the Midwest, featuring three courses with champagne or a mimosa. Dinner is served nightly, and special events like wine dinners and the annual Black Truffle Dinner are highlights for guests and staff alike.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High class food.”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I can say for sure that the place and location are gorgeous, that view of the lake it is awesome. Food is amazing, service is great, nice place for brunch or a nice elegant dinner. loved everything of this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lfmz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    92
    32
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprising disappointment”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Having been to Lake Park Bistro many times in the past for special occasions, my husband and I were excited to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. We specifically picked Lake Park a Bistro because we knew we would be taken good care of, could relax and treated to a great meal. With a 3&5 year old at home and the rare opportunity to dine out in peace, we were excited.

Wrong assumption.

We had 7:30 dinner reservations and mentioned to the hostess that we would be willing to wait longer for a table by the window or one off to the side because it was our anniversary (I find it disheartening to hear that other people were offered champagne for anniversaries, not us) . She said it wouldn't be a problem. We had a drink at the bar and 40 minutes later were seated. At a table where one person sits at the booth/bench and the other on a chair and other diners practically on top of you. I would have complained but our host (different person from the one that checked us in) was off like a flash without question or comment. And I wasn't ready to wait another 40 minutes.


It took about 20 minutes for anyone to even acknowledge us and I had to flag someone down. Not sure if this was our waiter but he took our order and told us a waitress would also be serving us. We never saw her. Waited 20 minutes for bread, 10 more minutes for butter (which I again had to wave someone over and ask for). Drinks took forever, so much so that my husband just walked up to the bar because no one paid attention to us. We ordered an appetizer, two French onion soups and two entrees. The soup came, no appetizer and then the entrees. I asked our "waiter" about our appetizer (the escargot one) and he said "oh yeah, they ran out of it. Dessert's on me". Well, we don't eat dessert and it would have been nice to know that the appetizer was out earlier because we could have ordered something else.

The food was delicious but the service and our overall treatment and experience was abysmal. It was very busy so I hope this was just an off night but I'm pretty sure I won't be returning to find out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Public Relations Manager at Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Please e-mail us at media@bartolottas.com so that we may follow up with you. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kitchen table”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We lucked out and had the opportunity to sot at the kitchen table and see the chef and staff at work - fantastic food, fantastic experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Classy French on the lake”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great service, great location, great decor, good food. This place really does up the french cusine and style. Prices are high and the place can sometimes come off a bit snooty, but it's always a nice experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place...specially if you are celebrating.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was really good. And, since we were celebrating our anniversary, the received us with a glass of champagne and a card thanking us for choosing them. The service was also excellent...very attentive. All in all, it was a great choice!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDonnadieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing