We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Orchestra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcus Center

Marcus Center
Ranked #52 of 166 things to do in Milwaukee
Attraction details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Orchestra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The MSO is a consistently excellent group that displays a willingness to be adventuresome with their programs - they frequently include pieces by recent/living composers on the program along with standard and popular repetoire. They provide performance opportunities for their own talented members as well as featuring well-known international performers. They contribute to making Milwaukee a more sophisticated and cosmopolitan location.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank eaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hitting just the right note!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Traveled to Milwaukee to see Jim Brickman's "On a Winter's Night" concert. Jim, along with Anne Cochrane, Tracy Silverman and Luke McMaster shared several hours of joyous music and laughter .... they had to be road-weary from their bus tour that began Nov 2nd, but you'd never know it. We enjoyed the holiday music and their hit songs (as Jim says "If you're lucky enough to have the hits, then you better play them!")

This theater is beautiful, both visually and accoustically. The staff there, from the time you phone for tickets, pick them up, find your seat ... all extremely friendly and helpful. Extremely clean and a pleasure to visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiTown_Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“place is not well run”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

What can I say...disappointing at best. We went to an afternoon performance of Sister Act. Great show, bad venue. The staff had no idea where our seats were - we ending up being misdirected several times and had to walk for about 15 mins to find our seats from one side to the other twice becasue we kept being told the wrong section. The place was dirty - really dirty, like they havn't cleaned it in a while and worn. too bad. The worst thing..There was and elderly couple who sat in the upper part and had to literally Crawl up the stairs becasue there was no hand rail on the point they sat. The place is not well run at all. If I were Steve Marcus or his son - I would get new management there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank educated53037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW suburb Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Accessibility is fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've just recently Marcus Center for Broadway on Tour with our adult disabled son. The wheelchair accessible seating is unobstructed view on the right side orchestra level. Location is fantastic with pre or post theatre dining and cocktails nearby. We drive up from the NW suburbs of Chicago and stay overnight at either the Intercontinental (right across the street) or Iron Horse Hotel for great lodging and dining!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MOMOsan_309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT VENUE TO ENJOY LIVE THEATRE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am constantly enthralled each time we visit the Marcus Theatre on how wonderful any seat in the auditorium is for viewing. We especially like the first level balcony and the side balcony seats. Excellent views from any seat. The theatre is clean, beautiful and so very comfortable.
And the staff is knowledgeable in regard to seating. And easy parking connected to the theatre. New to us was the chef's tables available pre show - could order very good food along with your drinks. And being allowed to take drinks to your seats is another great plus. Whenever possible, we choose the Marcus over venues in Chicago. Five stars!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank opieheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcus Center also viewed

 

Been to Marcus Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing