We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. A++++”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Excellent. A++++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is amazing. I felt like I just had to pay it forward for the great service and accommodations at this hotel. There is so much cool history about the hotel and the Pabst neighborhood. I am recommending this hotel to anyone that is anyone and everyone because I just loved my stay here and it made visiting Milwaukee well worth it. By far one of the best hotels I have patronized over the years. Clean, comfortable and even a little bit quirky because it's a one-of-a-kind Pabst Beer Theme. I used to stay at the Hilton and the Iron Horse hotel because of the close proximity to downtown Milwaukee where I frequent. I was disappointed more than once at both of those hotels since the service began declining in the past year. Don't get me wrong, I do like both of those hotels for different reasons despite the lack of attention to customer needs, but the Brewhouse blows them out of the water tenfold in all ways. If you want something less stuffy with better overall accommodations and great service then the Brewhouse is the place. Kudos to the staff training. Everyone at the front desk, the breakfast lady and even the maintenance man (Regis?) picking up the trash outside were engaged and genuinely seemed interested making sure I had everything I needed even when they were really busy. The complimentary breakfast in the morning does not have any hot items. But if you're like most people, fresh bakery and a hot cup of coffee and yogurt are sufficient. You could cook your own meals in your room if you wanted to. From what I understand each room has it's own kitchen. I plan to use my latest experience at this hotel as an example for my corporate team. Good "memorable" service goes a long way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDRAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    166
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
189
364
9
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I heard about this hotel in the Journal Sentinel. We didn't even know it existed so we thought we would give it a try.

The place is amazing. When you walk in you are instantly greeted by the valet person (we didn't valet park however) and then again by the front desk staff who are exceptionally friendly and very knowledgeable about the hotel's history. You can see the original brew kettles from the lobby area and if you go to the atrium level, you are in awe at the historic beauty that awaits. The kettles are ginormous and give you a goose-bumps, intrigued feeling like you are in a museum. The hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms are very modern (ours had some exposed cream city brick) with a beautiful view. Our room had a full kitchenette so we were able to cook a full meal on the stovetop and keep our beer cold in the full-sized refrigerator. We really felt like at home and the staff took very good care of us.The construction nearby didn't bother us at all which we were a little concerned about when we first pulled up.

Pros:
Excellent customer service by the hotel staff. Great job! Don't change a thing.
Beautiful, spotlessly clean rooms
Fresh bakery and coffee in the breakfast area (the breakfast attendant made our day)
Cool gift shop with a variety of food, beverages, snacks and toiletries and souvenirs. We bought a few Brewhouse beer glasses.
Pizza is delicious at Jackson's with a cold PBR!

Cons:
It's hard to really say this is a con, but the area is still developing so it's not directly next to all the downtown hotspots, BUT it is literally only 4-5 blocks from Water street so you could technically walk, but a cab ride cost us only $4.00 and was well worth it.
Coat hooks in room

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Zilber Park if none available facing downtown. Zilber park is quiet and we sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The tour guide at the Pabst Blue Ribbon Tour suggested after the tour we cross the street to the Brewhouse Inn and Suites to look at the copper brew kettles and the beautiful inn. The staff was so welcoming, the inn so charming that we decided to book a room for two nights. The room was a suite with a super comfortable bed, kitchen and really clean. An exercise room and yummy breakfast included. A wonderful perk is the pub adjoining the property has cold beer, tasty food and a shuttle to the Brewers ballpark.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We chose this place because it looked to be rather boutique/eclectic, and it was no more expensive that the other downtown hotels in Milwaukee. The conversion from Brewhouse to hotel is pretty spectacular, with the centerpiece of the central atrium the six vast copper vats and their vent chimneys filling the second floor and up through the center of the building.
Rooms are characterful and comfortable - great sheets - with interesting use of materials and colors: the toilet roll is held by a piece of pipe fitting, elbows and all, which I liked.Staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast included was very good with a variety of cereals, breads (fresh from the local bakery) and eggs, etc.
The surrounding area is in the process of being gentrified, so there is not much restaurant infrastructure within easy walking distance. The hotel restaurant had a good selection of artisanal beers (it is Milwaukee...), and the menu was certainly passable.
Side note: I parked in the street next to the hotel at 9:00 PM under a sign saying "one hour parking 9A - 9P"; I figured I was okay until the morning. Not so. I was issued a ticket at 2:33 AM for Night Parking, Wrong side. Milwaukee has a very convoluted parking system which demands that their website is consulted to know the (unposted) parking situation almost on a street by street basis: it is very complicated and, for the unwary visitor, borders on entrapment...

Room Tip: Choose one of the upper floors (2+) for the best experience with the atrium/brewing vats display.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank another_traveler0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Excellent job converting this into a "boutique" hotel. Beautiful look, unique furnishing throughout the hotel. Multiple little nooks spaced throughout the hotel as gathering areas. Restaurant connected to it had good food. Plenty of room for a family in the king suite. Decent breakfast. Wonderful beds. Majority of employees very nice. Great location for a reception at the Best Place.

Cons: Middle hallway room was very noisy. Could hear everything floors above and below us- end rooms much quieter per family also staying there with us. Did not sleep well first night due to hearing people running up and down hallways, slamming doors, etc. Lightbulbs burnt out in room- shouldn't this be noticed by cleaning staff? No hook to hang towel by shower and had to drape it over the door to the shower- very strange! Valet workers not opening the front door to let people in- unsure about what their job was. Most of the time they were just standing at their little desk not even saying "hi" when we entered. Fridge worked, but made a low toned irregular mechanical noise constantly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Brewhouse Inn and Suites is one of the first in a series if developments in the old Pabst Brewery. Therein lies one of its problems - the area is now pretty desolate with either construction zones, or soon to be construction zones all around. While it is near the Bradley Center etc., the immediate area is pretty bleak.
The hotel itself is quite attractive, having restored many parts of the old brewery. Our suite was a large loft with high ceilings and was very inviting...the bed was good.
The staff was still in progress - the person at the front desk could not give us directions to the airport and the free continental breakfast was not ready when advertised and what became available was pretty sparse.
Finally, parking @ $26 was quite expensive.

Room Tip: Our second floor room was very noisy due to the bar below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadsworth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed two nights when travelling through Milwaukee for work. Rooms were comfortable, quiet, and spacious. Staff were friendly. Free WiFi. Breakfast was decent. Would happily go back if I'm ever in the area again. Have no idea what was around the hotel (or the city more generally) as I was arriving and leaving quite late / early, so can't really comment on the location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank I_miss_my_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brewhouse Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brewhouse Inn & Suites

Property: The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
Address: 1215 N 10th St, Milwaukee, WI 53205-2558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Brewhouse Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay, all-suite boutique hotel transformed from the original Pabst Brewing Company Brewhouse. Located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee, the Brewhouse Inn & Suites harkens back to a bygone era in the city's brewing history. While retaining many of the unique features of the famous 1877 cream city brick Pabst brewhouse, including the dramatic five story skylit atrium with original brew kettles and stained glass window depicting King Gambrinus (patron saint of brewing), the hotel has added the superior service, tasteful amenities, and latest technology the discriminating traveler has come to expect. The ninety oversized rooms, all of them suites with large windows, exposed beams, and brick walls, are decorated in a stylish, neo-victorian, steampunk decor. Eclectic, yet so comfortable, all suites are equipped with full kitchen facilities, cable television with high definition flat screen lcd tv's, custom designed work desks with convenient power outlets, free hard wired and wireless internet access, and include complimentary breakfast. With a business center, fitness room, laundry facilities, valet parking, and gift shop, The Brewhouse Inn & Suites offers both the extended stay and overnight guest everything they require to make their stay relaxing and productive. Eight miles from Mitchell Field, and less than one mile from the Wisconsin Center, the Bradley Center, and Marquette University, The Brewhouse is convenient to all downtown attractions and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brewhouse Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing