We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 15, 2013

historic building with a lot of character. one disappointment, the windows were dirty. nice room though. had the breakfast, not up to Hilton standards and inattentive to surly staff. Very clean and interesting city. saw Veteran's Day parade, Harley museum, Pabst mansion. had a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Hi Michael

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the history and uniqueness of the hotel and the the room was clean and spacious for you. I am however, sorry to hear that the outside of the windows were not clear for you to see the skyline. We do have outdoor window cleaning scheduled and assure you that if and when you return again that you will have a clear view of the great city of Milwaukee.

We appreciate your feedback about your breakfast experieince, your comments and concerns have been shared with the appropriate management and team members for continued training.

Should you be in the area again we hope to be your hotel of choice.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Overall, the hotel was beautiful inside and out. Our room was a nice size and we especially liked that it was split into two separate rooms. The view was not particularly nice, being that it was facing the rear of another building but overall it was ok. We especially loved that it was so close to the third ward which is where we were going to spend some time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi Francesco,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us about your recent visit to Milwaukee. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your spacious suite and that you enjoyed spending some time in the Third Ward. i am however, sorry that the view from your window was not appealing. If you should be visiting Milwaukee again please feel free to contact us and we can pre block a room with a better view for you.

We hope to see you again soon

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is such a majestic building, reflecting the cities true architectural style. Most of the staff is wonderful, but the breakfast staff were a little different, almost bothersome at times. It was hard to just sit and eat without being asked about the payment of the bill even before we had enjoyed a cup of tea. The valet staff on the weekend seemed inept.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi Dale,

Thank you for using us as your hotel of choice while you were in the Milwaukee area. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotels history and structure. I am however, sorry that we fell below your expectations in the breakfast and valet service area. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate departments and team members for improvement and training pourposes.

Your feedback helps us to continue training in all areas and on all levels to assure the best customer service we can provide to every guest.

Should you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact us at any time.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great quiet stay. Rooms are clean and nice. I was upgraded to a suite and I felt the layout of the living room was odd. The couch and chair faced the desk and the tv was off to the side, almost behind the chair. I would have had to move some furniture if I wanted to watch tv in the living room comfortably. Bed is not the typical adjustable sleep bed that most Hilton Garden Inns have but still comfortable. Bathroom is ordinary hotel bathroom. Not much of a view anywhere but that is expected as it is downtown and not the tallest building around. But the view is really on the inside. Great historic building with excellent charm.
The one con I would say is that the high ceilings made it difficult to close the shades all the way and prevent the small crack of light to come through in the morning. Not much of a complaint.
I have stayed here in the past and I will stay here again when the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the first floor in the historic safe hall. You need a key to access the hallway to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi Adam,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us on your recent visit to Milwaukee. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its structure and history. I am sorry that the layout of your suite was not as convienent as you had hoped. Your feedback has been shared with all of the appropriate departments and team members for possible improvement on layout of room furniture and television.

Should you be in our area in the future we hope to be your hotel of choice. Please feel free to contact us directly should you have any further questions or concerns.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I didn't know when I booked this stay that the hotel was a historic building, so I was impressed with it's beauty but even more impressed with the renovations inside. It was very comfortable, the heating/cooling perfect. Very clean, comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hi Megan,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent visit to Milwaukee. I am glad you were pleasently suprised with the history and structure of the hotel. I am happy to hear that your room was clean and comforatble for you..

Should you be in our area again please feel free to contact me and I will assure that you have another great Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Milwaukee experience.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Garden Inn Milwaukee is a wonderfully restored old building in Downtown Milwaukee. I like staying in old hotels while at the same time a brand new modern hotel has a certain attraction. This hotel has the best of both - a historic building with suites that feel like a brand new modern hotel. Some of the other older hotels in Milwaukee are either way overdue for a renovation or the renovation was done on the cheap and its starting to show. The Garden Inn staff seems friendly and helpful enough. The gym, however, is two treadmills, an elliptical, and some free weights. So if you are looking for a great workout you may want to check around for a day pass to Planet Fitness or Gold’s which both are within close walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hi Christian,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotels history and structure as well as your modern feel room. I am sorry to hear that our gym fell below expectations. We do offer discounted passes for the local YMCA and Wisconsin Athletic Club for full use of thier facilities.

If you are ever in our area again please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to assist you in any way to assure you have another great experience with us.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our family stayed at the Hilton Garden and attended a wedding across the street at the Grain Exchange. The staff was very accommodating when we needed a later checkout time. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. This is a beautiful historic hotel and we will definitely stay here again. It was perfection!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hi Sandra,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your recent visit to Milwaukee. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel, your clean spacious room and that our staff was able to accomodate you with a late checkout.

We appreciate your feedback and it has been shared with all departments so we can continue to deliver the great customer service each and every guest deserves.

If you are in the Milwaukee area again we hope to be your hotel of choice. Should you need further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me and I will be glad to assist you.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#29 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,101 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $102 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing