We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“downtown”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed all the staff, nice clean large room,great bed,huge bathroom and shower( no tub-real whitch is good) fresh fruit on breakfast buffet, and cooked to order omlets, walking distance to things not real far. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We value your feedback and the team will be very pleased that you enjoyed Milwaukee and our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    227
    52
    21
    10
See reviews for
238
371
42
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is one block off the 'main drag', Wisconsin Avenue, in downtown Milwaukee. I'll admit some biased up front; I love hotels that repurpose old buildings for their use. This is one of those. The building itself is on the national register of historic places, and was originally built for an insurance carrier over 100 years ago, hence you can expect for fancy touches. The hotel did a nice job of preserving some of these touches in the public areas, including a beautiful staircase with copper finials. There are photos around those areas depicting some of the history of the building. Take a few moments and explore.
The room was clean and comfortable. The ceiling was very high, and I had two columns in my room, obviously load bearing, that harkened back to the buildings prior occupants. Even though I had a first floor room, window to the street, street noise did not keep this light sleeper awake. That is another benefit of these older buildings, solid beyond belief, keeping out most of those distracting vibrations.
I'm glad I stayed here, though I almost cancelled my reservation after reading the Milwaukee Journal Sentinels database of City health inspections of food service areas. According to that database there were 6 critical violations in July of this year. The database tracks several years worth of history, and is sortable. I looked at this property and read the violations. OK, I thought, a recent inspection probably means they are on their toes to keep things square. Then I noted in the database an inspection in late 2012 that listed 2 critical violations. Hmmm, trending the wrong way, and in a short period of time. While I'm happy with my stay, and would probably stay here again, I could not mentally get past the violations to try any of the food service on property.
One more item of note for the visitor traveling by car. There's a CPS parking lot just to the southeast of the property. It's $10 per night. The lot is not secured, but seems like a pretty high traffic area, so there's some security in that, I guess. (Valet parking is also available for $24 per night)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_5595_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We value your feedback and the team will be very pleased that you enjoyed Milwaukee and our historic location.
In reading your review, we were very concerned about the health inspection reports you had mentioned and researched our reports, the report in reference was for another Hilton location in our area. Please feel free to contact us directly and we can provide you with the reports for our location so you can have peace of mind when you stay with us. We want you to have the BEST experience possible with us.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct Line 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel was gorgeous. A beautiful light atrium and historic pictures filled the hotel. Quite a find for someone who is fascinated with Milwaukee's history. The corner room was large and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We value your feedback and the team will be very pleased that you enjoyed Milwaukee and our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I really enjoyed staying here. The hotel is beautiful and located near so many restaurants. The staff is very helpful. I would definitely return. I enjoyed the historical charm of this hotel. Not your ordinary chain experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Evonn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel’s structure and history, we are also glad that you received great customer service. Your feedback and comments help us achieve the best customer service and accommodation experience you deserve. We hope to see you again soon !

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The bar staff weren't that great. My husband went to get a drink for us and was completely ignored by the bartender, she left the bar completely unattended, he ended up coming back to the room without anything to drink. We came back to the bar for a drink before we left for our outing for the evening, my husband said his drink was the worst he has ever had and the price was extremely high. There were only a couple of other people in the bar area and we were completely ignored after receiving our drinks. I would just expect a friendlier bar staff, especially with the high prices they are charging. The valet parking is kind of a joke too. We had our vehicle valet parked during our stay. We chose to walk to dinner, and we walked right by our vehicle sitting in a parking lot, not in view of the hotel staff. We could have just self-parked our car and it would have been in a similar setting. When I select valet parking, I would expect better security.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I am sorry that the bar and valet service you experienced at our hotel fell below your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team and front desk team members for immediate action and resolution.

If you are returning to our area in the future we hope you will give us another opportunity to make your Hilton Garden Inn experience the BEST it can be.Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me personally if there is anything we can do for you to ensure your experience is memorable and enjoying.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Completely renovated late 1800's building has character that was maintained (lobby, marble staircase) while rooms are up to date. Great location for riverwalk, public market, restaurants. Easy to get to Miller Park or festival grounds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Wausautraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel’s structure and history, we are also glad that you received great customer service. Your feedback and comments help us achieve the best customer service and accommodation experience you deserve. We hope to see you again soon !

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were considering reserving a block of rooms at this hotel for our wedding because it is a great location. I had a very positive experience over the phone with the sales person, Jasmine. She was very knowledgeable and happy to answer my questions.
My fiancee and I decided to go in person to see what the property looked like and to possibly see a room for ourselves. When we arrived, the person at the front desk was EXTREMELY rude. She barely made eye contact with us, interrupted us mid-sentence to take a call, and then seemed surprised when we were still there after she hung up. She also seemed very put- off that we actually asked her a question.
I do not want our family and friends to have to deal with this type of attitude - we will not have our guests stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMR347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I am sorry that part of your group reservation inquiry at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and service, Even though you were not an overnight guest of ours we still need to know about all aspects of service that is being given to anyone walking in our facility.All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team and front desk team members for immediate action and resolution

We hope this does not deter you from returing to our facility and enjoy a great Hilton Garden Inn Experience with us and also enjoy our historic building and clean comforatable rooms.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct Line 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,794 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
887 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing