We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came here for a weekend away. It was close to everything in downtown Milwaukee. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go this weekend. There are several shops, bars and restaurants downtown, it was a great weekend. The brewery tours are also close. We had a corner suite, it was fairly quiet. There was only a microwave and mini fridge in the kitchenette, no sink or wet bar. Staff was helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: For the weekend, park next door in the Chase parking garage, only $12 for the whole weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    186
    47
    20
    10
See reviews for
173
267
29
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean and had everything that we could want. Housekeeping staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the history of the building. Great location between downtown and Third Ward. We can't wait to come back during warmer weather.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank We luv vacation... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are locals who decided to have a romantic evening in the city and we were not disappointed. This hotel is incredibly beautiful. It was the original Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance building and much of the original beauty is still there. The lobby is gorgeous, with mosaic tile floors, vaulted ceiling with a domed skylight, lovely carved woodwork, and the original elevators, as well as details too numerous to mention here. It's as beautiful as the Pfister for half the money...great bargain!

We had a King suite, which included a large sitting room with a couch and comfy chair with ottoman. There was a large tv in this room, as well as in the separate bedroom. The bathroom was nice, and the bedding and towels were great. Remarkably, the hotel is very quiet, which is unusual in the city. This is a brand new hotel and it shows.

The staff is excellent. We found that our lamp wasn't working and mentioned it to the front desk staff on our way out to dinner. They said it would be taken care of immediately, and it was.

You can easily walk to the Third Ward, as well as lots of great dining downtown. It's also right across the street from the Grain Exchange building, so if you've got an event there, this is a natural.

We will definitely stay here again when we want a "stay-cation."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked a Saturday night for a girls night out mostly due to location. Perfectly situated between the Third Ward & downtown. Hotel lobby is really cool as they kept a lot of the elements of this historic building. Double queen room was clean, and there was plenty of room for 4 of us. Staff was super friendly. Price was reasonable for a downtown hotel on a Saturday night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Not at all what I expected....and far exceeding my idea for a HGI stay in Milwaukee. The hotel has keep the historical charm in the lobby, elevators and hallways, yet offers it's guest a most excellent stay. Parking is a bit off, down to the corner in an open/unsecured lot - 10 usd/day or valet (same lot) for 24 usd/day. Close to many greatt dining spots. Except for the terrible brew coffee in the rooms, this is an excellent choice. I hope to return again with my wife to explore the city even more.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TrvlgMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was very happy with my weekend stay. The building's architecture and design are truly unique and splendid. The rooms have very high ceilings, but otherwise the amenities are pretty standard. The beds and bedding were quite comfortable. The staff were very helpful, and I was pleasantly surprised at the lack of noise from inside or outside the building. I researched parking in advance because of comments in other reviews that the hotel parking was challenging, and found a lot a block away with covered parking that takes credit cards. Just don't park in any of the reserved spaces.
http://milwaukee.centralparking.com/Milwaukee-525-North-Water-Street-Parking.html

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraInMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,

We are so happy to hear you had such a great experience with us! Thank you for sharing. If you are ever back in town and are looking for a place to stay, you know where to find us.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is something else we can do to make your stay more comfortable.
Best,

Kay. (414 271 6611)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wow! Where has this hotel been? I am a regular traveler and a Diamond member of Hilton. I love Milwaukee, but the hotel situation has been, well, meager in the Hilton family. This one, however will now be my home away from home. It is absolutely beautiful, 1880's restoration and QUIET!! The only downside is the parking is across the street and is outdoors, so no covering for snow. But, it's worth it. Luis and Travis in the breakfast area were top notch servers. Friendly, efficient and informed. Great job, guys! The food was fresh and made to order quickly. Everything about my stay was better than I expected. Not the usual HGI for sure. Except for the towels...not the best and that would be typical for HGI, Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites too. I imagine it's very popular since opening in November, 2012, so I better start booking it early! Thank you to everyone at HGI Downtown Milwaukee!!! Welcome, we've been waiting!!!

Room Tip: I've only tried one room so far, and it was away from the elevators and very quiet, but I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marqule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your glorious review! It is music to our ears to know that your stay was such a memorable experience! We will praise our team members for a job well done in our next staff meeting.
We look forward to have you stay with us in the future.

Best, Kay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing