We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked a Saturday night for a girls night out mostly due to location. Perfectly situated between the Third Ward & downtown. Hotel lobby is really cool as they kept a lot of the elements of this historic building. Double queen room was clean, and there was plenty of room for 4 of us. Staff was super friendly. Price was reasonable for a downtown hotel on a Saturday night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Not at all what I expected....and far exceeding my idea for a HGI stay in Milwaukee. The hotel has keep the historical charm in the lobby, elevators and hallways, yet offers it's guest a most excellent stay. Parking is a bit off, down to the corner in an open/unsecured lot - 10 usd/day or valet (same lot) for 24 usd/day. Close to many greatt dining spots. Except for the terrible brew coffee in the rooms, this is an excellent choice. I hope to return again with my wife to explore the city even more.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank TrvlgMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was very happy with my weekend stay. The building's architecture and design are truly unique and splendid. The rooms have very high ceilings, but otherwise the amenities are pretty standard. The beds and bedding were quite comfortable. The staff were very helpful, and I was pleasantly surprised at the lack of noise from inside or outside the building. I researched parking in advance because of comments in other reviews that the hotel parking was challenging, and found a lot a block away with covered parking that takes credit cards. Just don't park in any of the reserved spaces.
http://milwaukee.centralparking.com/Milwaukee-525-North-Water-Street-Parking.html

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraInMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello,

We are so happy to hear you had such a great experience with us! Thank you for sharing. If you are ever back in town and are looking for a place to stay, you know where to find us.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is something else we can do to make your stay more comfortable.
Best,

Kay. (414 271 6611)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wow! Where has this hotel been? I am a regular traveler and a Diamond member of Hilton. I love Milwaukee, but the hotel situation has been, well, meager in the Hilton family. This one, however will now be my home away from home. It is absolutely beautiful, 1880's restoration and QUIET!! The only downside is the parking is across the street and is outdoors, so no covering for snow. But, it's worth it. Luis and Travis in the breakfast area were top notch servers. Friendly, efficient and informed. Great job, guys! The food was fresh and made to order quickly. Everything about my stay was better than I expected. Not the usual HGI for sure. Except for the towels...not the best and that would be typical for HGI, Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites too. I imagine it's very popular since opening in November, 2012, so I better start booking it early! Thank you to everyone at HGI Downtown Milwaukee!!! Welcome, we've been waiting!!!

Room Tip: I've only tried one room so far, and it was away from the elevators and very quiet, but I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marqule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your glorious review! It is music to our ears to know that your stay was such a memorable experience! We will praise our team members for a job well done in our next staff meeting.
We look forward to have you stay with us in the future.

Best, Kay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I believe that this is the highest-quality-value hotel in downtown Milwaukee right now. What I mean to say is that you can't find a nicer hotel for the price! The hotel opened in November 2012. The building was constructed in the 1880's, and the restoration is terrific. Kudos to the owners for keeping so many of the original architectural gems! The rooms have very high ceilings with brick arched windows. So cool. The showers are enormous and luxurious. The bartender was a hoot! The bar area doesn't have great ambience because it's combined with the breakfast area, but you have to remember, this is a Hilton Garden Inn, so having a bar at all is pretty dang nice. The self-parking is extremely close and reasonable at $10/night. Really, it's just across the street, so it's no big deal. As long as the rates stay reasonable, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

As others have mentioned - A very nice historical building just converted to a hotel within the last few months and as such everything is very clean and up-to-date. I think it'd be difficult to find a nicer more up-to-date hotel at this point in the downtown Milwaukee area.

The location is pretty good - just east of the river and a couple blocks north of the restaurants and bars of the third ward and more options a bit north and east on Milwaukee. The lakefront is just about a half mile away and the Oak Leaf Trail provides miles and miles of good running. Also, the staff is great and the hotel is fairly quiet.

Only nits I have is the parking which is in an unprotected lot diagonally from the hotel. I wish they really had an affiliation with a garage as it's not fun to brush your car off after a snow storm. Also the food on the menu looks a bit un-appetizing and watch out for short pours on your wine - Beer is good but it'd be nice if they expanded beyond just two on draft and offered some variety of local brews - not sure if Miller Lite counts!

Overall - Very good with just some service items to work on which may be because of the newness of the hotel - Still my #1 pick for places to stay in downtown Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers, some tubs - if you want one or the other you may want to check to see what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for providing your review of your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our updated property location. We hope you were able to take advantage of the nearby trail! Your feedback regarding some of our amenities is greatly appreciated.

We apologize your dining experience didn’t match the rest of your stay. This is an area we are constantly updating and appreciate your comments about our beer and wine selection. We understand how an uncovered car can be an inconvenience during the winter months and will work to provide a solution for our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area.
Best,

Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hands down, this will represent the coolest lobby / atrium in any Hilton Garden Inn you'll ever see. This is the Loyalty building in downtown Milwaukee, and it's just minutes from top-notch restaurants and shopping in the bustling city center.

The rooms are completely renovated, and even though some are a bit quirky because it's not a ground-up build, the hotel has all the charm you would hope for in an interesting older building, with all the modern amenities you want in a hotel today. My room had two flat screen TVs, with the requisite refrigerator - microwave - coffee station in the living area.

The service was great, from valet parking (expensive, unfortunately), to check-in, to lunch and cocktails in the impressive lounge area. All in all, it was a very nice experience!

Room Tip: Ask if the room has an outside-facing window - some lower level rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheesehead7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#29 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,101 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $101 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing