We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best brewery tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakefront Brewery

Lakefront Brewery
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing City Tour
Ranked #2 of 27 Food & Drink in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lakefront Brewery is a leader in brewing the best beers in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Specializing in lagers in their formative years, Lakefront has since released the first certified organic beer, gluten-free beer, as well as the first fruit beer since prohibition. A leader in innovation, Lakefront produces a My Turn series in which, four times a year, a Lakefront employee gets to call a beer their own. More recently, Lakefront also started a Brandy Barrel-aged series of brews that release throughout the year. Beer aside, Lakefront is also known around the country for their highly entertaining and sought-after brewery tours. The tour price gets you 4, 6 oz. samples, a souvenir pint glass, and a coupon for Lakefront beer at one of many locations. It's recommended to buy your tickets online ahead of time. If available, tickets can also be bought walking up for the next available tour.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best brewery tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Drink before the tour... What a concept! Tour guide was fun, informative and really seemed to enjoy her job. Been on plenty of brewery tours and this was the best by far.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Organized_Chaos_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    927
    226
    48
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true Wisconsin experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

After hearing many co-workers rave about this place, and loving its beer, my boyfriend and undecided to give it a whirl on a Friday night for their tour and fish fry. I was able to go online the day before and buy tickets for their brewery tour. It's $8/pp and included four 6 oz pours of beer. Learning about their history, the brewing process, and listening to a great guide who obviously loves his job was great. Singing the Laverne and Shirley some at the end of the tour was great too. The seating for the fish fry was in a community style, with everyone sitting at big long tables. Their menu was great, and our entrees were superb. Great people around us, nice staff, and a polka band in the background made it a great night out. I highly recommend it to both locals and tourists.

Helpful?
Thank Shelbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, IL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour director”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I think that we had the best tour director, he was definitely entertaining. The tour director was worth the price of admission alone, and the beer was not bad. I was able to purchase tickets online. That ensured that I was able to make the time that I chose. Friday nights are also a very popular time for a fish fry. The lines were packed for the fish fry. There was live polka and sottish music in the meal hall. This brewery prides itself on allowing the tour clients beer tastings before the tour instead of after like many of the other breweries tours I have had.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW, Best brewery tour ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I visited this brewery with my family. It was absolutely awesome. The tickets were $7 and that included 4 6oz pours of their outstanding beers. They had 6 on tap. It included the most entertaining tour I ever took (my kids even liked the tour) and one 16oz pint glass. They have delicious root beer for the under 21 or non drinking visitors. I have to send a shout out to Evan our tour guide. He was awesome I learned a lot about the Milwaukee brewery scene with great emphasis on the Lakefront history. They have Bernie Brewers mug and Chalet from Milwaukee's old County Stadium - really cool. If you are ever in Milwaukee and want a fun, entertaining afternoon, I highly recommend the Lakefront Brewery. Cheers!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank nrassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Tours and Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lakefront is definitely a place to check out in Milwaukee. The brewery tour is a lot of fun while being informative, and of course you have samples all through the tour! If you on a Friday night, the fish fries are amazing, and live polka music! The tables are tables are large, made for sharing, so it is a great place to meet new people. And lastly, the beer is the best!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakefront Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lakefront Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing