We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Best brewery navigational specialist ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakefront Brewery

Lakefront Brewery
Book In Advance
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing City Tour
Ranked #2 of 24 Food & Drink in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lakefront Brewery is a leader in brewing the best beers in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Specializing in lagers in their formative years, Lakefront has since released the first certified organic beer, gluten-free beer, as well as the first fruit beer since prohibition. A leader in innovation, Lakefront more recently released a beer containing only ingredients found in Wisconsin, including an indigenous yeast strain cultivated right here in Milwaukee. Riverwest Stein Amber Lager is the must try as it's the most popular craft beer in Milwaukee and the flagship that built the place. Beer aside, Lakefront is also known around the country for their highly entertaining and sought-after brewery tours. $8.00 gets you 4 6 oz. samples, a souvenir pint glass, and a coupon for Lakefront beer at one of many locations. It's recommended to buy your tickets online ahead of time, but tickets can also be bought walk-up for the next available tour.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best brewery navigational specialist ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was the most entertaining tour we have ever been on! I highly recommend this tour. We could not stop laughing on this tour. The beer is great, too! You must go on this tour!

Visited December 2012
3 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Really great tour and very informative. Our guide was simply awesome. I highly recommend, the beer tasting part was a personal highlight!

1 Thank GingerRaider87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Was A Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Highly entertaining and informative tour of the brewery. For 7 bucks, you get four beers to try, and a free Lakefront beer glass. Good value. Also went for the fish fry. Good food, with polka band and dancing. Families were having a terrific time and we very much enjoyed ourselves. Happy employees. We recommend this place!

Visited December 2012
1 Thank Allen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a great time in this relaxed, "low brow" atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was actually told of this place when I was on the Miller Brewery tour by another customer who recommended it. It was a close drive so we decided to check it out.

$14 bucks for two adults which included 4 drink samples (each) and a pint glass for each of us. Didn't get that on the Miller Tour!

I had to ask where the cashier was and you had to listen for your tour group. If you weren't paying attention, you could miss it.

I've been on many brewery tours (8) and this was the most relaxed and informal. Beer making in the lakefront brewery is Masculine and fun. It fits the roots of the company of a couple of guys screwing around making beer.

The part I most liked was the fact they paused the tour each step along the way to ensure everyone had an opportunity to have a beer in their hand.

The humor was crude, but it fit the environment. Clearly this tour was about having fun a cracking jokes more than it was about education in the art of brewing.

My girlfriend and I had a great time and would probably return for another tour.

Visited November 2012
Thank Vyndictive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comedy Central! (oh, and Beer too)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

OK, if you want the fancy, lots of brewery science tour, head over to your Bud brewery. If you want to have lots of fun, head over to Lakefront.

The guys at Bud would shudder with the thoughts of large groups of tourists, WITH beers in hand (yes, you are encouraged to drink beer while on this tour!) wandering around their equipment, but at Lakeside it is all part of the charm of a small craft brewer. Our tour guide has comedy routine that is better than 90% of all the "real" comedians I have ever seen. So not only are you learning something about Beer, you are well entertained with the guides quick wit. Even if you don't like beer, the tour is a better value than your local comedy club.

Maybe Not the best place for a family trip with kids, but for a date or get together with friends, it is a perfect afternoon. BOOK TICKETS ONLINE! Tours FILL UP!

And, PLEASE, bring a designated driver! (Tour admission $8, includes (4) 6oz "samples" of high alcohol beer plus a coupon for another beer at a long list of bars (must use before 6pm that day))

Bottom line...I will definitely go back again.

Visited December 2012
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakefront Brewery also viewed


Been to Lakefront Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing