We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Milwaukee Rep. is Serious About Theater”

Milwaukee Repertory Theater
Cudahy, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“The Milwaukee Rep. is Serious About Theater”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Milwaukee Rep has been Milwaukee's leading theater company for decades. It has three regular performance spaces: The Power House, The Steimke, The Stackner Cabaret. The Cabaret, as the nam,e implies has live music in an intimate bar setting. The Rep. does everything from Shakespeare to contemporary. Recently, with a new artistic director, the Rep. has gone in a more commercial direction. It does more musicals than it has ever done before. Most productions are very good and some are outstanding. Their biggest production is their annual rendition of Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol in the neighboring, historic Pabst Theater.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cashelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    24
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been coming to shows here for years”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Quad-Powerhouse Theater is a great location for a very good theater company. They put on a wide variety of plays, so there really is something for everyone. Their production of "A Christmas Carol" every year is a treat. If you like the theater, check out their lineup, there will most likely be something you want to see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, WI
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“End of the Rainbow - Quad Powerhouse Theater”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my first show in the Quadracci Powerhouse Theater at The Rep!! WOW! Beautiful location - not a bad seat in the house!! We saw "End of the Rainbow" and the performances were exhilarating!!! What a wonderful Saturday night adventure! Will definitely look forward to my next visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HTCWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent theater company, but enough with the socially conscious plays”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have gone to the Rep for many years and the actors are consistently fantastic. It is a joy to watch their talent. Sadly, though, the play choices lately, especially this season, simply do not interest us. The one exception was the outstanding comedy/farce, Noises Off, one of the funniest plays I have ever seen. The others seem preachy and politically correct. I have a UPAF buy 1 get 1 free offer that I won't even use this year because nothing appeals. Please, a few more lighthearted offerings for those of us who get enough PC in the nightly news.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Variety of Excellent Performances”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love all the theaters at the Rep: The Quadracci, the Stiemke and the Cabaret. Performers and performances are top-notch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKEAmyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Repertory Theater also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Repertory Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing