We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blues in the Night is FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milwaukee Repertory Theater

Milwaukee Repertory Theater
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Blues in the Night is FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sabina and I went to Blues in the Night (http://www.milwaukeerep.com/season/blues.html) tonight and were blown away. It was so much fun and the venue (Stackner Cabaret) is as good a place to see intimate theater as we've ever been. The talent in this show from the singing and dancing to the acting is amazing and that you can get tickets for $35 is among the best deals of any theater anywhere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    23
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Theater at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are so lucky to have a place like this in Milwaukee, 3 fantastic venues in one place to watch wonderful plays.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gives Milwaukee a bad Rep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Milwaukee Rep Theatre is usually known for off-beat yet compelling theatrical productions. My wife took part in their summer program this past July and my in-laws are contributors. However, my experience of the Rep has been lackluster, dangerous, and disappointing.

If it's your first time at the Rep, the best advice I can give you is, watch your step! There are no running lights along the wide and chunky stairs leading up into the seating areas in the smaller theatres. Several people stumbled and fell up and down the stairs (in the pitch dark) at my wife's showcase and it was a wonder that they weren't seriously hurt.

In addition, the productions director was unfriendly and not very helpful when our family was trying to find the correct theatre door.

Overall, I would skip any production at the Rep and go instead to Ziedler Hall.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsydrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Milwaukee Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Milwaukee is lucky to have a wonderful variety of high quality cultural attractions, far surpassing those of other cities its size. The Reperatory Theatre is near the top of the list. As a season subscriber for many years, I have watched its complexion change with the various artistic directors, but have always been impressed with the production even when I did not particularly like a certain play. I love the variety offered by the 3 venues. The Rep in Depth lectures before performances are well worth coming 45 minutes early. Always informative, they are occasionally an entertaining show unto themselves.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Passage1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Luck for Milwaukee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Rep has really stepped up its performances and shows. We were season ticket members 25 years ago and gave them up since it was not interesting anymore. We went to 3 shows last year and this year have bought a 4 ticket package. Thanks for stepping up!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cathdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Repertory Theater also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Repertory Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing