We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would imagine, but still worth the time”

Miller Brewery Tour
Ranked #5 of 28 Food & Drink in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Miller Brewery Tour offers a FREE 1 hour indoor/outdoor guided walking tour of Miller Valley, home to over 155 years of brewing history. Experience everything from Fredrick Miller's arrival in Milwaukee to the high-speed production lines used today. Our tour features a wide screen introductory video and stops in Packaging, Distribution, the Brew House and our Historic Caves. Every great tour ends with hospitality and ours is no exception. Enjoy three ice-cold beer samples at the Bavarian-Style Miller Inn after your tour if 21 or older with valid ID. (soda and water available for those under 21). Commemorate your experience with a custom tour photo or one of many great items in our Girl In The Moon Brewery Shop. We look forward to seeing you for your Miller Time experience soon. CHEERS!
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What you would imagine, but still worth the time”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I wasn't sure about this tour, but since we were in Milwaukee and how can you not go and tour at least one brewery and I do drink Miller Lite, this was the one. It was a nice walk through history, one of the oldest breweries in the country, they still had a lot of the original place still in tack, but not using them as they used to (the caves where they used to stack ice so they could keep beer cold during the summer months), it was still cool to walk in the paths of an original and yet still see modern technology now at work to improve the process. It was worth the time and if back in the area, would probably go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    231
    97
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent tour! Go see it!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

An excellent tour of Miller Brewing Co. The visitor's center is first rate and there are things to buy in every price range.
A goofy photo starts things off :-) and a state of the art video. The tour is in depth and in the facilities in Miller Valley-not just a video and nothing else! I like seeing the real operations and you sure do! The cave is awesome and the tasting at the end made me realize that Miller & Coor Light and Lemon-Berry Shandy doesn't stink when fresh!!!!!!!! Definitely go to this tour when you are in Milwaukee. Children are welcome too, obviously they just don't get the beer! A great tribute to the 'American dream' too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momathome09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saukville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome light show”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The holiday light show is very good! We did get to see the caves which was warmer than the temperature outside. You do get three samples at the end of the tour. The first sample is Miller Lite. The second and third samples are usually seasonal or other Miller/Coors products.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevbo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Visit”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Its nice to see that this is still a great free tour as many companies have cut back. A must see if you are in the area and worth coming back to.

Helpful?
Thank nevermeant2say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern Brewing”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We wanted to take a brewery tour while in Milwaukee, and the Miller tour was available on our schedule and free. It is an hour long, with a long video to begin with. It was informative, then promotional. My mom caught a cat nap. The girl in the moon was interesting. We went on Sat, and the filling lines and shipping where not active. So, again a video. We were at the end of the tour, and got to ask some interesting questions of the guide. They were funny and knowledgeable.
Of course the best part was the cave, a great artifact of history, and the final tasting. Not just a small taste, but a large glass. Loved the glasses so much, we got a set at the gift shop sent to our home.
If I could offer some advise to Miller - Coors, perhaps a miniature setup that show the brewing process from beginning to end, including samples of the hops and grains used.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank darcymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller Brewery Tour also viewed

 

Been to Miller Brewery Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing