We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for older kids”
Review of Discovery World

Discovery World
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing Bus Tour
Ranked #14 of 174 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discovery World connects innovation, science, technology and the environment with exploration and learning through interactive exhibits and experiential learning programs. We are dedicated to helping people positively impact their communities by developing a better understanding of technology and the environment while fostering both innovation and creativity. Discovery World is a 120,000-square foot facility that includes interactive science, technology and freshwater exhibits, learning labs, theaters, television and audio studios, and fresh and saltwater aquariums. Venture into our world of technology Take a 3-D journey into virtual environments. Feel the dips and dives of flying an airplane. Lie on a bed of nails. See the inside of a nuclear reactor. Immerse yourself in our world of water See aquatic life from the Great Lakes, North Atlantic, and the Caribbean. Interact with stingrays, sea urchins, sturgeons, and more in our touch tank. Navigate your own ROV (Remotely Operated Vehicle). View the world's largest model of the Great Lakes while you learn about native amphibians, reptiles, and fish. Discovery World is also home to the S/V Denis Sullivan, a 137-foot replica of a 19th century Great Lakes schooner and a floating classroom for water education and conservation programs, day and night sails, and private receptions. Located on the shores of Lake Michigan, our grounds and promenade provide plenty of opportunity for strolling, picnicking or just enjoying the view.
Gladstone, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for older kids”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was very interesting, but my kids are 7 and 4 and it was a little over their head. The aquarium was really neat. Would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    133
    41
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun for Everyone”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went there with my daughter and her two children. Sooooo many things to do. Make a day of it! Definitely see the 3D experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MsDee510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey, but may be worth it”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Admission is $17 for adults and $13 for kids. I was thankful we got in for free with the ASTC reciprocal program. This is a wonderful museum and well worth a visit if your kids are old enough. My crew are 12, 9, and 6. The majority of the place went right over the 6 yr old's head. You could see he was a bit bored until we got to the aquarium section. The exhibits are well done and the signage was great.

When you arrive, head to 'The Hive' upstairs and sign up for the show. They have a short 3D presentation of travelling through the solar system. You stand in a small room and the three walls in front of you, as well as the floor, are screens. They only take five people at a time for each show, so some days it will fill up quickly. The two older kids and I gave the bed of nails a try. All three kids liked the flight simulator and I think it was called the Dream Factory (?) There is a machine where you can choose what animal and in what color you want made. You can then watch the robot arms and laser cutter make your creation. It's cut out of fun foam and stamped with Discovery World on the side. You then punch out your pieces and easily assemble the animal.

The aquarium section was by far the favorite of our group. When you enter, you are in the middle of a large room and a great lakes display. Find the "Storm button" and give it a push. The kids really got a kick out of it as the shades lowered and a rainstorm rolled into the room. Downstairs, they have a big touch tank split into freshwater and saltwater sides. You can touch sting rays and sturgeon. There are several large tanks with a wide variety of fish. Be sure to stop in the submarine discovery lab as well. There were many educational activities to explore in there.

The museum has their own underground parking deck. I'm sure you could find cheaper parking nearby, but it was worth it to us for the convenience. We paid $10 to park for the four hours we were there. They also have a small cafe onsite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barneveld, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit, worth the stop if you have kids!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Discovery World is a nice place with some really nice exhibits. I love the Great Lakes experience which occurs right when you walk in. If you don't know what to expect you may walk right past it and not see the attraction, though it is big. If you wait you will see a storm erupt over the lakes, complete with thunder, lightning and rain. The skies light up and it's loud. It's a great exhibit. The aquarium on the lower levels is nice, you can touch some of the fish which is awesome because most places like this are hands off. Discovery World is very good about having interactive displays to really engage kids (and adults). Many of the displays are about important topics, such as water waste. If you take the time to really dig into the exhibits and see how they work you will be amazed. For kids, many times they offer real live demonstrations, such as when I was there last week there was a group of kids dissecting fish. The location and building are beautiful and give great views of Lake Michigan.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A little pricey but AWEsome adventure”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

What a great place to spend the day with your kids!
There's something unique, industrious, marvelous and intriguing at every corner of this great science institution!
All of us were drawn to the aquariums and touch pools and the industrial design machines.
A family membership is a great idea if you plan on taking a day-trip to Milwaukee a couple of times per year but also has other huge perks. The membership also gives you 10% off gift shop and food purchases, as well as reduced membership to numerous children's and public/science museums, [you'll get a membership card along with a list of museums offering reduced admission, our next trip will take advantage of that at the Field Museum in Chicago].
Plan to spend the majority of your day here, you'll need that long.
Get out and enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery World also viewed

 

Been to Discovery World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing