We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place”

Betty Brinn Children's Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing Bus Tour
Ranked #21 of 168 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Milwaukee's only place for hands-on play and interactive learning, just for kids 10 and younger and their grown-ups! The Betty Brinn Children's Museum is dedicated to providing interactive exhibits and educational resources that promote school readiness, including the development of early literacy, beginning math and science concepts, problem-solving, and physical and social skills. Visit today to explore our resident exhibits, special exhibits and our weekly educational programs.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place for all ages. Toddlers have their own fun area. Older kids have fun exhibits that also teach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    66
    24
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My kids (3 & 7) loved it. There was so much to see. We had to drag the kids from area to area and we still didn't see it all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TinaB036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I Wish I Were A Kid Again”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went on a weekday, 3 adults and a 2 year old. There was a comfortable assortment of people, not crowded, not overly noisy. There are scads of things for kids to do. Our grandson had a ball. We were there about 3 hours. Had the kid not tired out, we could have probably spent another 3 hours without running our of activities. I was VERY impressed with the layout of the museum. If you have a child under the age of about 14, add this destination to your itinerary. You'll all be happy you did.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
356 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Lots to do for all!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a very busy Monday during spring break for Milwaukee Public Schools. I was excited to see some new exhibits that my children (ages 10 & 5) loved including creating tubes for golf balls to travel through and a new outdoorsy exhibit with Smokey the Bear!

The only drawbacks are the parking now that there is so much construction. We ended up on the street with a two j hour meter. We probably could have started another hour, but had to move the car. The only other issue was the availability of golf balls for a number of exhibits. I saw a number of kids melt down when they did not have access to try out their creations.

We like to visit about twice a year. The kids still love it after many visits!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Public Relations Manager at Betty Brinn Children's Museum, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit but are very sorry that you had difficulty parking, and that the golf ball supply was limited during your time here.

With more than 200,000 visitors annually, upkeep of the exhibits and props is of the utmost importance to our organization and, as I’m sure you can appreciate, a continuing challenge. Golf balls travel quickly with little ones. We keep plenty in stock, so our staff will work to better ensure that there are enough of them to go around!

Although area construction has affected some street parking, there are several area garages conveniently located near the Museum that have ample parking available. Milwaukee County's O'Donnell Park garage is adjacent to our building, and we are able to offer a $2 discount to Museum visitors. The price varies based on the length of your stay, but the maximum charge with the Museum discount (on a regular, non-festival day) is $6. Additionally, Museum members have the option to purchase a $3 flat-rate pass for any amount of time they are parked in the O'Donnell garage.

The US Bank Garage is just a short walk down Michigan St., and all Museum visitors have the option to purchase a $3 pass at our admissions desk for up to four hours of parking.

Again, we appreciate your thoughts, and welcome you to please contact us at questions@bbcmkids.org if you have any additional feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place for 5 and under....”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great place if you have little ones 5 and under. My kids were 5 and 8 and they were pretty bored. There were a few neat stations for them, but really geared more for the littler ones. I thought the place was small compared to the ones in Chicago. Parking was a pain. Had to park a little ways away and walk a bit to get there. It was pretty cold out; good thing we had gloves and hats.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mybabyboys222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Public Relations Manager at Betty Brinn Children's Museum, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We're so sorry that you were not able to park in the structure that is adjacent to the Museum, the O'Donnell Park garage. Just a short elevator ride from the garage and you've arrived at the Museum! Unfortunately, because of road construction, we realize that it can be a bit difficult to find the entrances and are working hard to provide better signage to direct our visitors to the garage. Additionally, we have just opened a brand-new section of the Museum called the Be A Maker Space. The BAM Space is dedicated to helping children learn skills, tinker with tools and materials, and share ideas, creations and experiences with others; and is geared to children age 6 and older. Phase I of the project is now complete and the space is open for scheduled workshops and programs. In May 2014, Phase II will be completed, after which there will be ongoing opportunities for kids to use their creativity to create something amazing during their visit to the Museum. We hope that you're able to come back and check it out! Again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty Brinn Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Betty Brinn Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing