We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the kids but a little old.”

Betty Brinn Children's Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing Bus Tour
Ranked #21 of 168 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Milwaukee's only place for hands-on play and interactive learning, just for kids 10 and younger and their grown-ups! The Betty Brinn Children's Museum is dedicated to providing interactive exhibits and educational resources that promote school readiness, including the development of early literacy, beginning math and science concepts, problem-solving, and physical and social skills. Visit today to explore our resident exhibits, special exhibits and our weekly educational programs.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for the kids but a little old.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We took our kids to the children's museum on a hot summer day. The place had a lot of hands on and the kids had a blast but it was hectic and a bit dirty. I felt like things are not repaired quickly and there were several things that needed attention. I've gone to many of these and this one is up there with the best of them. I wouldn't drive to Milwaukee just to go, but if you are in the area it is worth a side trip. My oldest is 6 and it might entertain her for a few years more.

Helpful?
1 Thank CalvinFan1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    66
    24
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My son had a ball”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a wonderful place to visit if you have young children. My son is 2 1/2 and he had so much fun. A huge variety of activities for a child to choose from. They could spend hours and never get bored.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank wdgibs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun, unique venue for special events.”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We held an event (Summerfest kickoff, Big Bang fireworks) at the Betty Brinn museum and had a terrific time. We had over 100 people at the event, and everyone was complimentary about the facilities and staff. The view from the museum is fantastic,,, you can see the art museum (a site in itself) and the Discovery World museum and, of course, Lake Michigan.

In advance of the event, we worked with the staff to prearrange all of the details and they were very accommodating at every turn. They also helped us unload before and reload after. The staff members that were on hand during the event were also extremely polite, cordial and very friendly to the kids. We brought our own bar/bartender, music system and food. They also offer a solid list of caterers for those who prefer a less stressful setup.

Most of the adults (nearly 100) were on the balcony where we had a bar set up for cocktails and lots of food. Our event was around 5 hours long (6:00 or so till 11:00) and the kids all played in the museum the entire time. This was perfect; the adults could mill about on the patio and the kids had a GREAT time inside – and had plenty to do for the duration.

The weather for our event could not have been better, either. The fireworks were great.

We would highly recommend the Betty Brinn museum for a unique venue for casual gatherings that are both kid and adult friendly. We definitely had people come to this event that often don’t attend our gatherings because they have young children. The museum offered a great time for all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for the Kids!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I love this Museum for the kids. My daughter and I have been going there for three years... she now is 6. There is so much for the kids do... and so much educational and imaginary play for them! Check it out... it's a must!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cherie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little worn down already...”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

While I expect kids to tear things up, I don't get the impression that anyone is doing general upkeep here. While they have a good variety of interactive things for kids, & a special area just for the little ones, we found alit of broken, missing parts..., and the number of kids in anyone section can be quite overwhelming for smaller kids..., even in the toddler area.
Gift shop crazy!!! Overpriced

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFoodLoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty Brinn Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Betty Brinn Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing