We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate show at the Alchemist”

The Alchemist Theatre
Ranked #86 of 174 things to do in Milwaukee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An intimate, 64 seat theatre and cocktail lounge in the trendy Bay View area. Productions are mostly locally written and produced and range from simple, fun, family-friendly shows to dark, scary and sometimes sexy shows with professional actors, custom 12.1 surround-sound and powerful special effects packed onto a stage smaller than most people's living rooms. Dedicated to proving a lot of "WOW" at some of the lowest ticket prices you'll find anywhere!
Racine WI
2 reviews
“Intimate show at the Alchemist”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed "king Leer" at the Alchemist. This theater seats only about 60, so you feel really close to the action. The cast were very professional and a joy to watch. Actors often entered and exited the stage from the back, giving the audience an "in the scene" experience. In the lobby, there is a full service bar and you can bring your drinks into the performance. The Alchemist opens one hour before show time, so come early to get front of the theater seats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We recently caught a play called "Help Wanted" at the Alchemist Theater in Bayview, Wisconsin. It was the best play I have seen in years. It was a play written by the owner of the theatre. I believe his name is Aaron. The Alchemist has a warm and cozy feel and when the play started it felt that I was part of the action. Such a great place. I cant wait to go back and see their Halloween play this fall. "The Alchemist Eye". And best yet you can order cocktails because they have a bar there too. Very cool!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why go to a movie when you can do this?”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

There's no doubt about it - no matter how much your coworker gushes about that new movie with whats-her-nuts in it, you are taking a gamble with your evening. Why not skip the movie (which will be available on netflix in 3, 2, 1...now) & be sure that your evening will be filled with great theater instead?! I've never been disappointed at The Alchemist (and you can trust me more than that sappy coworker who is also probably really into cats and pumpkin spice lattes). It may not look like much is going on when you are outside, but as soon as you step in, you are in a different world. You enter through the bar, which offers a lot of great drinks. They even have specialty drinks (so...if you're looking to liquor up your date, check those tasty options out). The theater is small but comfortable. It is easy to get caught up in whatever show is going on in such a cozy space. Their fall halloween shows are always a good time. Check out their website for info on what is going on. Or, if you are in the area and it is a show night, just stop in for a drink to take a peek at the bar area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rebekahkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always improving.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Discovered this three years ago and both the atmosphere, decor and shows get better and better.
Miss the old cushier seats, but they definitely needed to go a little smaller to fit more in to this tiny place.
Always comfortable and entertaining. Always get what they call the pirate mai tai cocktail.
A must-see for everyone I bring to Milwaukee!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank maydaymaydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From what I remember?”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

First of all the drinks are tasty and strong. Try the Ninja!
Hanging out in the lobby before the show is great. Feels like some of the off-off-broadway spots. Not sure if it is open during the week but it is a nice bar with a good variety of cocktails. No tap beer, however, which is strange for Milwaukee!
I saw an adaptation of Orwell's 1984. Really scary and intense. Great actors! One of the actors in the show was in a big production of Shakespeare's 12th Night the year before.
Interesting, low-key theater space with impressive equipment. Hope to go back again next time in town. I'll drink the Ninja AFTER the show next time!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank racewinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Alchemist Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing