We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum
Book In Advance
$38.00*
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing City Tour
Ranked #1 of 166 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum boasts an extensive collection of nearly 20,000 works, representing such artists as Pablo Picasso, Georgia O'Keeffe and Andy Warhol.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a great place to go and look at art. I took pictures for my wedding here and it is absolutely beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miltown23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,328
    419
    79
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect Marriage: Architecture and Structure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have always appreciated Calatrava's work, as I've seen some of his work...this one by no means fall short of awe inspiring......if you are like me , a plain and simple structural engineer, you need not to pay admision to see the exhibits, and delight on the building itself, which you can see without paying......be carefull with your jaw as it might get hurt while dropping to the floor.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank frez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perhaps the second most amazing modern building I've visited.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very cool design, lovely location on lakefront. Modern ship departing to the east. Collection is impressive for a regional art museum. "Art in Bloom" was exhibit when we visited. Floral designers were each assigned a work of art to inspire them. Neat juxtaposition of art and flora. Enjoyed everything about visit except the snow in mid-April :-( .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rojamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little piece of awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was a beautiful morning in Milwaukee, not a cloud in the sky and 40 degrees. Perfect backdrop for this museum and its galleries. It has a good mix of art from classic and unique sculptures to beautiful and largely diverse paintings. My favorites I saw were by Joan Miro, Maurice de Vlaminck and Harry Bertoia. The entire museum is doable in 2 to 3 hours (even 1.5 if you're in a rush) and definitely worth the price of admission. I would visit the museum again next time I'm in Milwaukee. Only tip would be to find cheaper parking. Museum parking: $7 (1-2 hours) $9 (2-3 hours). If it's a nice day it's worth driving a little bit away from the museum and enjoy the walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytravelings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Salsa Dancing at the Museum?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

MAM: After Dark has to be one of the most exciting things about Milwaukee, as far as featured events go. The art museum hosts a Friday night event once a month to a certain theme. Salsa, Circus, Black and White... & Those are just the recent ones. There is food, drinks, and misc events in relation to the theme. Plus the Museum is still open as well.

For the Salsa Event:
There was Salsa Tasting competitions with a few local restaurants. Menu tasting from 2 restaurants/vendors. 2 cash bars. And the big one: Salsa Dance instruction!! It was the best. People of all levels and abilities were out there learning the basic moves and then jazzing them up with their own personal flare. I loved it.
I used the underground heated parking, which was $15 but there was plenty of street parking. The Drinks weren't too high in cost either.
Definitely would recommend this as a family event or even as a date night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing