We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite the place to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum
700 N Art Museum Dr, Milwaukee, WI 53202
14142243220
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$38*
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing City Tour
Ranked #4 of 136 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum boasts an extensive collection of nearly 20,000 works, representing such artists as Pablo Picasso, Georgia O'Keeffe and Andy Warhol.
Dousman, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
193 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quite the place to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Not only is this a real plus to the lakefront in Milwaukee but you can watch the "wings" open. They have a traveling exhibit which changes every few months and is very worthwhile. If you are a senior and go on the first Thursdays of every month, it costs nothing to get in and see all of the exhibits. Parking is close by and the view of the lakefront in itself is spectacular esp. if it's a sunny day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica58860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marathon, WI
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Color Rush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just stopped in on a Milwaukee visit and checked out the photography exhibit "Color Rush" - it was excellent! If you like photography - this is a great show to check out. Lots of interesting tidbits about color and its early use in photos from past to present.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HTCWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be sure to see the Calatrava wings open!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lovely building. Interesting Permanent collection. Good gift shop. Special exhibitions always thoughtful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved the Posters of Paris show in September 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went on a weekday so we were able to park under the museum and walk up. The poster show was fantastic - seeing all those iconic images in person was great. The gallery was well suited for the show. The building is amazing and the collection will surprise people. They do a great job of getting important traveling exhibits booked there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, IL
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wings and Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First I must say that the building is a masterpiece. I did not know to be there at 10am to watch the opening of the wings. I will be sure to include that on my next visit. I gather they close at the end of the day, also. The collections include some very interesting German metalwork goblets and clocks. There are some old masters, and impressionists, including a lovely Caillebotte of rowers on a river. The modern and contemporary galleries are enormous, with many significant works. They have a whole area exhibiting Georgia O'Keefe's. A special area for children was being enjoyed by them on my weekend visit. There is a coffee shop in the lobby, which I tried, and a restaurant which I did not. I would say the strengths of their collection are definitely 20th century, but there is so much else here, too. I was quite impressed by the size.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aviatrix2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing