We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ in Milwaukee”
Review of Smoke Shack

Smoke Shack
Ranked #76 of 1,518 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: We're a cozy little joint with just 47 seats. This means we’re unable to accept reservations. Please feel free to walk in. Ooh, be sure to show up early – we sell out of much of our menu daily!
Milwauke
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Milwaukee”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is our go to spot for BBQ in Milwaukee. Get here earlier if there is something specific you want, because they smoke their meat daily and things can run out. Check the board by the door when you get here to see whats left and whats running out. The ribs and wings tend to go first. The brisket, pulled pork, wings, etc. are great, and the sides do a great job of rounding out the meal. Good cocktails and good beer selection as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Griff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    86
    30
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fox Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Mac-n-Cheese Alone is Worth The Price of Admission!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Have been to the Smoke Shack a few times now for dinner and each time we were delighted. The atmosphere is very cool and quaint. The servers are very accommodating and prompt even when they are packed.

Each time we dined there were 4 adults in our party so we decided to order the Smoke Shack Sampler for $60 total. The Sampler basically has everything on it that is featured on the menu; baby ribs, spare ribs, brisket, pork loin, pulled pork, chicken, mac-n-cheese, corn bread, slaw, mac-n-cheese, sweet potato fries, AND did I mention the Mac-n-Cheese?? Yes, three times and for a reason. Outstanding! We actually ordered an extra side of the mac-n-cheese and slaw as the portions were not as much as I like, because I have no control.

This was so much food for the price, there is no way to leave hungry! Go now!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food was good but not great”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The smoke shake has a great look and feel to it and it had always peaked my interest however the food was not much better than average and was a bit pricey. In the restaurants defense they seemed to be out of what we really wanted to we had to settle for sandwiches.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ace17267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Restaurant recommended by the bartender at Iron Horse Hotel...what a hidden gem! Great food and atmosphere..Ribs are not ready until 5 pm so if you want ribs, wait for dinner..worth the wait!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank live2travel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I want to go back...now.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Awesome food. At first, thought it a bit on the pricey side (about $12 for a sandwich), but given the location (expensive Third Ward), not outlandish. Once I sunk my teeth into the brisket sandwich, I decided it was worth every penny, probably a bit more. Great service, although we went on a Monday night when not that busy. Given that it is small, not sure how they do under pressure, but if you have the time, who cares. The food is worth the wait. Just get there early, as they run out. At 7:30, we got the last 2 brisket sandwiches. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smoke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing