We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never fails to satisfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Braise

Braise
Ranked #75 of 1,504 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never fails to satisfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family makes it an annual event to come to Milwaukee and eat at Braise. The food is always delightful, surprising and satisfying. The local cheese platter is the perfect way to start a great evening there. And it only gets better after that...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    34
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food - Difficult to evaluate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

It's not often you walk away from an excellent meal feeling less than satisfied, but that's my conclusion about Braise. Braise offers a unique and eclectic menu. Mix and/or match on small plates and appetizers. Limited choice(5 or 6) entrees. Many ingredients are home or locally grown/raised. My spouse and I sampled scallion cracker and trout parfait appetizers along with asparagus soup. Our entrees were rainbow trout served atop a celery root salad and a coconut curry dal. These choices were very good to terrific.

It was the atmosphere that seem a bit uncomfortable. We were seated in the bar area where there are long benches along the windows with tables and chairs set to accommodate 2's, 4's 6's, etc. We ended up between a couple of bigger groups on one side and a very talkative twosome on the other. It wasn't a place we could relax and enjoy our very nice meal.

The server was knowledgeable and polite, but didn't exactly exude warmth. While appetizers arrived quickly we waited on our entrees.

Braise probably rates another chance, but I'd almost rather have a decent meal in a comfortable atmosphere than outstanding food without the comfort. Overall it's a four on the Tripadvisor scale, but not one to hurry back to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bicycle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent all-around dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently ate here prior to a symphony performance to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were seated on the rooftop, which was a great setting among the greens that the restaurant was growing. We had the parmesan custard w/morels, the humba, pork buns, and seared trout. Each of our plates was delicious, with a nice combination of flavors. Our craft cocktails were excellently prepared. We enjoyed the farm to table concept. Service was excellent. Our server was chatty without being being intrusive. When we mentioned our anniversary, she returned later with a card and packet of seeds for specialty radishes.....a nice touch! Atmosphere was great and laid-back. I was also impressed at the value, we had drinks, 4 plates, and then an after-dinner coffee for my wife and a glass of port for me, for $80. The chef/owner, Dave, stopped at our table during the meal, which was a nice touch as well. I see this becoming one of our local favorites. We will definitely be back......sooner than later.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

They were a little late in seating us, but made it up to us with a complementary appetizer, but otherwise no problems at all with service. Most of the staff we talked to have been with the restaurant since it opened and their knowledge showed.

The communal seating was a surprise, but they do leave anough elbow room between parties so you don't really feel too croweded in.

The menu was one interesting item after another. The pork sticky bun, we were told, has been on the menu since the place opened and I can see why. We also tried the dish featuring stinging nettles and were not disappointed.

We had trout and chicken for main courses. We found the sauce very complimentary to the fish.

Portion sizes were appropriate and artfully presented.

Wine list, while not extensive, was certainly adequate.

The value was significant. Comparable meal in Chicago, a mere 90 miles away, would easily have been double or more in price.

We are certainly looking forward to coming back in much warmer weather when the full expression of the chef's local sourcing commitment is sure to be showcases.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The bar has a decent ambience, but the service was a bit slow and it offered no gins of any known name. I gambled on a classic martini, and lost $11.00.
One of the four "small bites" (appetizers) was excellent, one was very good. The "big bite" (entre) I ordered was Trout. It came as thinly sliced pieces with rice and a sour sauce that was not a complimentary. I might never order trout again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braise also viewed

 

Been to Braise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing