We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent....we will be going back again”
Review of Braise

Braise
Ranked #82 of 1,508 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greendale, Wisconsin
1 review
“Excellent....we will be going back again”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

From the first course to the last we loved every bite. This is not your ordinary restaurant. The staff was very knowledgable with the food and wine. We sat by the kitchen and we enjoyed talking to the staff and seeing how everything is prepared. The food was prepared to perfection with appropriate portions. The aroma and flavor of the dishes were sophisticated and well integrated. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    34
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
440 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice dinner before the theatre”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went here before a play at Next Act, relatively nearby. We made a reservation for 5:30, as that was the only reasonable choice, and we were glad we booked this for the earlier time. We were seated promptly and had a drink while we perused the menu. We like the approach that Dave Swanson takes with the food, sourcing everything locally even in the winter. Dave does a very nice job with the limited ingredients available this time of year. I had the curry squash soup and the beef strip and lamb sausage large plate, and my wife had the sunchoke salad, the steamed pork buns, and one of the tarts. Everything was really tasty, except the sauce on the pork buns. Something just didn't seem to work as well as it could have. There were interesting wines by the glass, many from Italy and France, and some that you don't often see by the glass. I had some Montepulciano and a Burgundy blend, and they went very nicely with the meat and sausage.
We splurged on the desserts, chocolate pot de creme and the chiffon. Both were delicious and were a good choice. We also had coffee to go with the decadent desserts.

There were only a few small glitches in the service. The pork buns took a long time to arrive. The diners at the next table were seated after us, but they got their order of pork buns before we did. We suspected that they got our order delivered to them by mistake. We also had to ask twice for a wine refill during the meal, but other than that, things went pretty smoothly.

I really want to go back to Braise during the summer, when the locally-harvested foods are at their peak. The Sunday night special dinner sounds intriguing also, so I hope to post some more reviews of Braise in the future.

The table seating is fairly open in the front of the restaurant, so I'm not sure how good it would be for a romantic outing or a special occasion. There was another dining room that may be better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

late dinner with family-
menu is restricted, but rich with flavors.
Braise bases that menu on what they can acquire locally, so while the menu is small, it does a great deal with 'what's in season'.

nice, relaxed atmosphere… pretty cool in a reviving area of Milwaukee, just north of the AB Clock Tower.
larger tables are 'almost' family style- long, wide, block tables, but spacing between groups.
2's and 4's are normal setups- bar area a bit small, but well laid out.

even the 'large' plates are relatively small, but quite delicious.
a bit pricey, but the meals are well worth it.

server was fine, not super friendly or helpful, but expedient and thorough.

a must visit at least once- try many different things!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tvdirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Chose this restaurant from the reviews while visiting the city. Service, booze and food was fabulous. The flavors in the food exploded in your mouth! Highly recommend it. Thanks for the wine and sourgham popcorn anniversary party!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local that exceeds the hype in Milwaukee”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Start to finish an amazing local food experience. Like other reviewers have mentioned, I have had better but not often, and the way the whole experience was packaged and delivered certainly pushes it into my top 20-30 dining experiences. There is something special about eating fresh and seasonal that draws us to the experience but few deliver on that promise the way Braise does. If you like lamb this is certainly one of your best opportunities to eat it in Milwaukee. Desserts were amazing, solid service, a visible and engaging chef and a great atmosphere. We will be back again and again and plan to take advantage of some of the special programs Braise offers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braise also viewed

 

Been to Braise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing