We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Fresh, Creative”
Review of Braise

Braise
Ranked #100 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple, Fresh, Creative”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently tried Braise for the first time, with a large group. Service was great. The wait staff made the experience fairly effortless, including the way the bill was itemized. Made it easy for us to figure out who owed what! The atmosphere was cozy and it was great to see repurposed items- the tables and floors were from old bowling alley lanes. The bar featured a cucumber cooler drink, similar to a mojito but using Rehorst gin I believe, and adding cucumbers. It was very refreshing. The food, of course, was the main thing. Features are small plates averaging around $8-9. There were several full-size entrees as well. I did have a 1/2 order of the mushroom bacon risotto which was perfectly cooked. I liked the addition of kale. But my favorite thing was the heirloom tomato salad. So simple, yet perfect. The tomatoes were just the right temperature and ripeness to bring out their full flavor. The dressing was similar to a balsamic vinagrette-very light, some greens akin to arugala and dollops of silky smooth ricotta cheese were perfect with the tomato. Amazing. For dessert, two of us shared the lemon tart and the chocalate tart. The lemon was lemon curd with berry jam and creme fresh. Excellent. The chocolate tart had a fresh creme top and the ganache on the bottom. Also tasty. Both were large enough to share with someone too. The only complaints I had were the lighting was a little dark when the sun went down, and as we were finishing, another large group came in and were so loud we had a hard time talking. Fortunately we we ending our experience so we didn't need to complain. Overall I did still give this place a 5, as the concept, atmosphere (with the mentioned exceptions), service and food quality were all top-notch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OneHappyVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    35
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Now This Is Dining!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Braise is a culinary delight. If you enjoy good food...REALLY good food that is somewhat eclectic, uses incredibly fresh and local ingredients, and presents it very well - then get here as soon as possible. Each dish is a subtle burst of flavor that kept us asking "what is that!" While the menu changes regularly/daily, if the herbed chicken with risotto or the trout is on the menu, don't pass it up! The steamed pork buns are delicioius, and the heirloom tomatoes are melt-in-your-mouth and definitely fresh. The value of everything we tried is well worth the price. Service is very friendly but some might consider it slow (we had to ask a couple of times for refills or extra bread - which, by the way, is worth the wait as well!), but if you savor your dinner rather than just eat it....enjoy the company and be patient. It's worth it. The small dining room adds to the intimacy of the experience - and for a real blast, sit at the counter to watch dinners being prepared and ask lots of questions! It's educational as well as delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millionmiletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Based on other reviews we called up this resto while in town. We couldn't get a table, but they said we could likely get a place at the bar. We had great food and wine and very friendly service and helpful recommendations from James the bartender - an ardent foodie. this is a place that takes pride in its mission to provide the best of local ingredients in a very cool environment where they've repurposed bowling alley flooring and barn board to create a great esthetic. Cool but unpretentious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good reviews = can't get a table anymore”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a restaurant speciallizing in locally sourced products and fine preparation. The three meals we had there in the first couple of months after they opened were nothing short of sensational. Then word of mouth and great reviews and we can't get in anymore! Wish we could have kept this wonderful place for ourselves.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MilwaukeeMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fresh food & creative mixed cocktails”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Unusual menu with lots of interesting options, great service and casual atmosphere. They had a good selection of wine that was not over priced. They has a wonderful selection of house cocktails and had a good selection of bourbon. I was impressed that they have a real coffee maker (espresso, latte). Lots of small and large plate options for meat eaters and veggies too. Interesting selection of desserts, not the borning cheese cake and creame brûlée. Super bartenders too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braise also viewed

 

Been to Braise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing