We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT food, GREAT service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rumpus Room

Rumpus Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Rumpus Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 1,503 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Gastropub, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: State Street
Description: The Rumpus Room is a European style gastro pub in downtown Milwaukee that combines adventurous but approachable, comforting food and one of the best craft beer and cocktail programs in the city. The Rumpus Room offers a laid-back casual dining experience and features a spacious bar, an intimate dining room, a charcuterie area and a separate private event space. The menu emphasizes local, sustainable ingredients whenever possible, and the bar offers more than 20 beers on tap and more than 100 in bottles, plus a craft cocktail menu that changes with the seasons. One of the best restaurants in Milwaukee's lively downtown entertainment district, Rumpus Room frequently welcomes theater-goers before or after a performance at the nearby Marcus Center for the Performing Arts.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“GREAT food, GREAT service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed the Rumpus Room last week. Though Wicked was in town, we (fortunately) scheduled out reservation for when the masses exited. Our timing (7:30) was great. A few drinks at the bar and we were seated.
Though it was a Thursday, very few people eating at 7:30 pm.

Food - WONDERFUL. Halibut and Ribeye were both OUTSTANDING.
Service - VERY attentive. Rudy was our waiter, he did a GREAT job.
Atmosphere - Very good. More subdued than Bacchus, much more casual.

One side note - though our more-than-half-full bottle of $60 wine was accidentally tossed (new bus boy), they immediately comped us a whole new bottle, opening at our table so we knew it was actually a new bottle. This, my friends, is why we choose Bartolotta restaurants. Their service is SUPERB.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    66
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We expected more than just a high bill from a Bartolottas restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

To put it simply, it was disappointing. We had a reservation for 8 at 5:30, prior to seeing a performance of Wicked at 7:30. We were seated promptly, but our table was in a dark, back corner of the restaurant, right by the restrooms. It was a long table so it was difficult to talk with everyone. The decor is hard to describe. My impression was loudness, dark walls, floors and lots of prints and other objects on every inch of wall space we could see. One of them was a print of the back view of a rather large, naked woman in a bathroom. Not very appetizing in a dining room. But that is nit picking. Our waiter, Oval was very nice and seemed knowledgeable about the beers and menu. He was however in a hurry to get us to order and get moving. It must be the newest trend lately to offer various meats in one form or another along with cheeses as appetizers. There was a whole menu devoted to this and our group did not find any of it appealing. We did have rumaki (bacon wrapped chestnuts), deviled eggs, just one but it was very good, and two pretzels. That was all we could find on the snacks/appetizer menu that sounded good. We had two 7 year olds and there wasn't much of an offering for kids. They ended up with a grilled cheese sandwich, which was devoured! And chicken tenders that were not ordered but delivered by mistake. We don't know what happened to the original order. The veal meatloaf was very good although it was overcooked and mushy just like the potatoes and carrots it was placed on. Several burgers were ordered which were pronounced "OK". Our eldest grandaughter had the mac and cheese which she thought was bland as well as chicken wings, too spicy grandma! Our son had the fried chicken with mashed potatoes and gravy. He keep trying to give it away or trade for someone else's dinner. I suppose this might mean he didn't really care for it. Our water glasses were never refilled, a small thing but something that usually never happens in most restaurants. I'm sure that when Bartolottas took over this spot (it was called Eagan's I believe) they did some remodeling. But I don't think from what I remember it has improved in looks or atmosphere. I'm glad we tried it, because now we know we won't be returning. Not the mention the bill was enormous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancineF169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Public Relations Manager at Rumpus Room, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We'd like the opportunity to follow up with you - please e-mail us at media@bartolottas.com. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great downtown atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you are looking for a good vibe downtown atmosphere, this is it! The drinks are good, the food is the best, but it is crowded. So get there early or be prepared to wait! It's worth the wait if you are not on a time crunch! We had the stuffed quail and the Scottish salmon and both were great! The only negative was the noise level!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JinGermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Space and a Great Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Rumpus Room is a unique setting in Milwaukee they took the old Eagans and made it Steampunk chic! I love the space! I love the unique food menu and highly recommend it to anyone at any time. Great for brunch, or a wonderful weekend dinner. I have been to Rumpus 5 times or so and have never had a bad experience. The staff is friendly and bar is top notch - really the best in the city for creative cocktails.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robbin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cool Menu, Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I have been into the Gastropub fare and this hit the spot. Great menu offerings and awesome appetizers. The scotch eggs are awesome. We ordered a second after inhaling the first. We also had the pork belly which was excellent. I had the pork schnitzel which was outstanding. Just writing this makes me want to go back and get it again. My wife had the veal cutlet sandwich that she loved. Great beer and drink selection. Outstanding helpful service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumpus Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing