We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gastro pub”
Review of Rumpus Room

Rumpus Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Rumpus Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 1,518 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: State Street
Description: The Rumpus Room is a European style gastro pub in downtown Milwaukee that combines adventurous but approachable, comforting food and one of the best craft beer and cocktail programs in the city. The Rumpus Room offers a laid-back casual dining experience and features a spacious bar, an intimate dining room, a charcuterie area and a separate private event space. The menu emphasizes local, sustainable ingredients whenever possible, and the bar offers more than 20 beers on tap and more than 100 in bottles, plus a craft cocktail menu that changes with the seasons. One of the best restaurants in Milwaukee's lively downtown entertainment district, Rumpus Room frequently welcomes theater-goers before or after a performance at the nearby Marcus Center for the Performing Arts.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great gastro pub”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We made a field trip up from Chicago, and we're glad we did! The food was very good for lunch. The alcohol selection was truly impressive, both for liquor and beer. The bartender (Matt) was knowledgeable and very friendly. Will definitely return next time we're in Milwaukee!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AharonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    66
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The place was packed, and the service and food were great. We worked through a majority of the beer list. The vegitarian in the group enjoied his veggie burger, and the rest of us meatatarians all left happy. The fifth "star" is for the great service on a busy night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best Beer Cheese Soup”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are a fan of Beer Cheese Soup this is a place to go. It's served with a side of popcorn which is the perfect compliment for this little dish. I've had this soup on previous visits and the experience has been consistent

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glassnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

To be honest, I wasn't impressed. We went with a group of friends recently and it just wasn't that great. The rumaki and salad were good - but how do you mess those up? I split salmon and grilled veggie pasta with a friend but I couldn't find any veggies in the pasta and the salmon was good...but the sides left ALOT to be desired. Waitress was good - no complaints there - but they need to step up their game on the food side.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Britt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
318 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Try It, You'll Like It!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Rumpus Rooms marks the Bartolotta Group's entry into the world of the European Gastropub, and they've made a nice splash. We haven't spent any time in the wood encrusted bar section, but everyone in there always seems to be enjoying themselves. The wine and especially the beer selections are extensive as is the cocktail menu. The modestly-sized restaurant, located in the north side of the establshment, is nicely situated on Water Street for a pre-theatre meal or a post show drink.
It is unusual for a restaurant to be entertaining,but this place is defintely enjoyable, in large part because of its unusual and eclectic menu. There's just so many interesting things to try it's almost overwheming. Our chef-selected charcuterie included bacon jam, duck fat, and pork pate; all were delsih. The menu includes a variety of unusual, some would say oddball, items including such delectables as Pork belly, Fried pig ears, Scotch eggs, and S'mores desset bars, as well as more standard dishes. The decor is stylish, a stunning throwback to the late 19th century, complete with dark wood paneling, embossed tin ceiling and hanging light fixtures salvaged from an old cathedral. Service is Bartolotta standard, meaning excellent, with Rebecca carrying the flag on our most recent visit.
This is a great place. We'll be back often, I'm sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumpus Room also viewed

 

Been to Rumpus Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing