We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, great location ”
Review of Cafe Benelux

Cafe Benelux
Order Online
Ranked #41 of 1,461 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Historic Third Ward
Description: Sorry, we're closed temporarily due to COVID-19. We'll reopen when this all passes over! Be well. Located in the heart of the vibrant Third Ward, Cafe Benelux celebrates the unique culture of Lowlands Europe with a massive, award-winning Belgian bier selection, a full from-scratch menu, and Milwaukee’s most unique rooftop patio.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

We found this place after visiting the public market and it was amazing.
It was a beautiful night and sitting and relaxing on the upper patio could not be beat. The beer menu is a novel so if you can't find something you like, it's on you.
Great food and great ambience.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2017

When it opened, Cafe Benelux was a great addition to Milwaukee's Third Ward. It's the perfect spot to sit and schmooze with friends -- especially the rooftop dining area. I have visited Benelux many times and have never had a bad time, but I also have never had great food. I'm not a picky eater, but I always struggle to find something to order on this fairly odd menu. Its heritage may draw from the Benelux countries, but I've been to that part of Europe and the menu doesn't reflect the best of the region. So go for the atmosphere and on a sunny summer day, bask in the rooftop bliss. But have a snack before you go because the quirky menu and the odd dishes likely won't satisfy your hunger.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelinNan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Best roof top restaurant and bar on Milwaukee! Excellent food, and a very extension German Beer menu. Fun place to go with co-workers, friends and family! I highly recommend this restaurant and roof top bar!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank kathysP9722LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Overlooking the Market area. Very busy most of the time. We just appetizer and drinks. Watched the people walking in the downtown area. We sat rooftop and had good views. Great beer selections

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank bjorn5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

I'm from out of town, this was my second visit in 7 years. The location is great, especially when events are going on downtown. There's a second floor outdoor patio with great seating. There are community style tables so our party of 6 was set next to a party of 2 that we did not know. that worked out fine.

The food. I don't recall what the food was like 7 years ago but I was so disappointed this time. The prices seemed decent and the brunch appetizer beignets tasted good! But then our food came, the Americana I ordered was lacking. The thick cut bacon the menu boasts about for several dishes was super thin! (see photo) The sourdough bread was super tiny and the potatoes seemed undone. My friend ordered a BELT+A and it was on the same sourdough I had, and her sandwich was super tiny. We left somewhat hungry.
I'd recommend this for location but not for food.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chelsmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Benelux also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Benelux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site...
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.